We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy & uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisy & uncomfortable”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Located next to I81. Truck noise all night long. lumpy small pillows. uncomfortable bed. relatively expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Martinsburg25401, Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Hello! Being conveniently located right off of the interstate has it's definite benefits, but we understand that it can be slightly noisy for light sleepers. Our hotel does have relatively new noise reducing double-pane windows throughout the building, and the majority of the guest rooms face away from the interstate. If you are used to the quiet of the countryside, you may want to request one of our rooms further from the road.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    75
    40
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
57
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights.. Staff was great, room was great, in good location for shopping, Harpers Ferry, dinner..
We ate breakfast 2 times and it was fresh, hot, and lots of it.
My husband has celiac so he has to watch what he eats and they were helpful with that.
The buffet is 5.25 for breakfast and it is worth it.. eggs,bacon,french toast,pancakes,fruit,cereal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarandspice5661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Martinsburg25401, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We think our new chef is doing an excellent job, and we are happy to hear the guests are enjoying it, too! Our housekeeping staff takes pride in their work, and we are glad that it shows. Thank you again - we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Expect average rooms some worn furnishings. Bathroom was OK. Carpet could use a good cleaning. The interstate (I-81) runs directly by the hotel, thus there is constant traffic noise and some may find it difficult to sleep, as did I. Internet service is extremely slow, 26 kbps as measured by www.speedtest.net on three occasions during my stay (over three days); this is below dial up speeds. High speed was advertised and needed for my stay. I verified the speed issue with three co-workers prior to informing the staff of the issue. The staff told me that too many people were using the bandwidth and to try again later. I did, until 11:30 pm, issue persisted. My answer, acquire more bandwidth to meet the demand for the advertised amenity. Do not expect to get any work or play done on a computer while staying at this location. Sleeping well is questionable. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AaronBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Martinsburg25401, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel - we are happy to announce that, after a month or so of working with the internet service provider, we have finally gotten to the bottom of what was consuming so much of our bandwidth, and the problem has been corrected. We do care about what our guests have to say, and we appreciate when needs are brought to our attention. Next time you come to stay with us, we know you will be much happier with the internet connectivity, and we hope you will notice the great job the professional carpet cleaning company just completed in all of our guest rooms and public spaces! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Excellent place to stay and a great value. Staff is friendly and attentive, especially the crew at the front desk. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant, "Heatherfields", was honestly better than I expected, and I would recommend it for a comfortable dining experience. All in all, I would whole-heartedly recommend the Holiday Inn if you are traveling in or through the Martinsburg area.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Martinsburg25401, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you so much! It's always nice to hear from satisfied customers. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east stroudsburg pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

my wife and i stayed here on 9/10/11. we were returning from north carolina to pennsylvania from vacation and needed a pet freindly hotel. upon checking in the key to the room did not work. my wife returned to the front desk and resolved that issue. we were in the room no longer then one hour and the door opened to our astonishing surprise to find a couple entering with their dog. one can only imagine had we left to dine out and what would have happened to our retired greyhound had we not been there. the couple apologized and returned to the front desk. upon stepping out to walk the dog with my wife about an hour later, we returned to our room and the key would not work. by now i was totaly disgusted and wished i would have stayed on the road on not checked in. my wife had to return the five minute walk back to the front desk and now resolve this matter. they apologized and said it must have been a "computer glitch". i contacted holiday inn corporate to voice my concerns and they did not bother following up on our terrible stay. i will not stay at a holiday inn again after this experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yankeefanalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Martinsburg25401, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel - it is through guest feedback that we are able to improve our service and the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Very nice place to stay when your away from home, when you forget toothpaste or a comb, they have all that for you. Traveling away from the family is very hard but when you can bring your family they make you and your family very comfortable. The staff is very committed to bringing you the best service that they can, they go above and beyond.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Martinsburg25401, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your kind words! With the Holiday Inn's "Forgot Something?" amenities program, we keep you clean, fresh, and well-groomed with complimentary toothbrush, toothpaste, lotions, soaps, combs, etc. We appreciate the opportunity to be your "home away from home". Look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALEM, MA.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

When you come off a long road trip you want a nice clean room, refreashing shower and a nice place to eat a meal. The Holiday Inn in Martinsburg provided the first two but not the latter. All the staff that I met were friendly and helpful. This was especially true with the front desk staff odf Ashley, George and Grace that worked the Sunday morniung shift. They provided interesting information about the area and recommended a little Italian restaurant that was outstanding. Our room was clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was a little small but adequate for our needs. My criticism about this Holiday Inn was thier breakfast buffet. The breakfast was included as an extra charge in the price of the room. Unlike the excellant breakfast at the Winchester , Va Holiday Inn the morning meal in Martinsburg was tasteless, cold, and poorly presented. The scrambled eggs were lukewarm and were either powdered or previously frozen eggs. They were totally tasteless, home fries, pancakes and french toast also tasted like frozen foods products. The fruit on buffet table looked old and unappealing and the coffee rolls were also frozen food products. This breakfast if served as a complimentary item would still be inadequate. I am surprised that the Holiday Inn is serving food that lacks appeal and taste. The entire staff and prestige of the establishment is hurt by a poorly served product. I hope they correct this fault as I met many friendly, helpful staff at the hotel and they do not deserve to be pulled down by a poorly served breakfast. As an afternote, I would recommend that the uniform colorss of the dining room servers be changed to something friendlier. Thier blackon black looked more like custodian uniforms than restaurant clothes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CULTURALPATHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Martinsburg25401, Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
It gives me great pleasure to announce that the Holiday Inn Martinsburg has recently hired a new chef in our Heatherfields Restaurant! The new chef is already preparing some changes to our menu and our food selection, and we are excited to experience his expertise. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you if your travels bring you this direction in the future - this time, we hope the most important meal of the day will also be your most delicious meal! Thank you for taking the time to write your review - hope to see you again soon!
-Ashley Dillow, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Martinsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Martinsburg
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Martinsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Martinsburg
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
75 reviews
7.3 mi away
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Motel 6 Martinsburg
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Martinsburg
Days Inn Martinsburg
#7 of 14 in Martinsburg
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Martinsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Martinsburg

Property: Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Address: 301 Foxcroft Ave, Martinsburg, WV 25401-5315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Martinsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Martinsburg! This hotel is conveniently located off I-81 exit 13 in Martinsburg, WV. All 120 guest rooms including 10 two-room suites and 4 whirlpool suites are beautifully decorated with many amenities for the comfort of our guests. Each room offers free high-speed Internet and its own refrigerator and microwave. Our location is perfect for leisure and business travelers alike with its close proximity to the IRS Center, VA Hospital, Charles Town Races and Slots and Harper's Ferry NHP.Heatherfield's, our in-house restaurant, serves breakfast and dinner 7 days a week. An elaborate brunch buffet is offered every Sunday while a daily luncheon buffet is available Monday through Friday. Dine-in where Kids Eat Free in a casual family atmosphere or order from our room service menu. Enjoy a relaxing drink at our lounge which is open Monday - Saturday.The Holiday Inn Martinsburg offers a guest business center equipped with a PC desktop and printer. Fax and photocopy services are offered at the front desk. Maintain your exercise routine in our 24 hour fitness center or just relax by our heated indoor pool.Consider us for your next convention or social affair in our 3,872 sq. ft. ballroom or inquire about one of our many smaller private meeting and board rooms.We are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Martinsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Martinsburg Hotel Martinsburg
Martinsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing