We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING”
Review of Heritage Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had traveled 12 hours straight and all the nice world wide hotels were booked and I had no where to go till I saw this Heritage Inn place in Martinsburg,WV. I checked in at 10:17 pm by a grumpy rude man and went to the assigned room and was grossed out. There were earwig bugs, flys, the box spring had a gapping hole in the sides, sheets had cigarette burns and the air conditioner looked like a fire hazzard. The towels and was h rags, were literally rags, shredded. I was so tired from driving and had to get sleep. I did manage 4 hours of sleep mainly becuse I wanted to get the hell of of this slum room. I can not believe a room is 'rented' out to anybody. I do not recommend anybody to stay there, It is thoroughly disgusting and dirty and gross.. They got the so-called furniture from a dump site!

Room Tip: Do stay there, its is pathetically disgusting, dirty, and gross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank c h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

Parking lot is a bit dark. Indian run but what hotel isn't these days. Nice and friendly. Old but clean. We just needed some sleep so we could finish our trip up to Connecticut. Didn't want to drop $70-$109 on 6the hours of sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gettingitfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We checked in and within 5 minutes there shady guests going from room to room partying. There was also a very loud buzzer that sounded every time the office door opened. We didn't feel safe and asked for our money back. The manager said NO even though we had only been there for 5 minutes - we left anyway! Absolutely the worst motel experience in our 12 day Eastern US road trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Good enough for the price. It's a cheap place to stay. Located near a mall and several restaurants. If your low on budget I recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muriel145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I will have to recommend that you avoid this motel unless you need to save money or other places are full. It is very old and not well kept and arriving after dark will not inspire confidence. The Relax Inn next door looked even worse; its parking lot was full of contractor trucks and men drinking beer, which is why I paid more for the Heritage. Check in was smooth, but they do not accept credit cards for payments under $40, which is likely if you have a coupon. Also, this is the only motel I have stayed in that insisted on photocopying my driver’s license. The room was very small, but this is the type of place where you check in late and leave early. First, I saw no smoke detector in the room. Second, the door did not lock when I closed it. If you are inside, you can throw the deadbolt, but if you leave, you must slam it hard enough to shake the building. I did not know this and thus left the door unlocked while I shopped. Third, the last straw was that water pressure in the shower was so low that it came out as trickle. On the other hand, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the AC/heat had a very smooth sound. I was not bothered by noise during my mid-week, 12-hour stay. It was nice to save a few bucks, but I think most people would be uncomfortable staying here.

scopoper47’s top tip: On this stretch of I-81, there are a lot of motels. Those in northern VA and MD are cheaper than those in WV and southern PA with the same range of quality.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scooper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Martinsburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Martinsburg
Days Inn Martinsburg
#8 of 14 in Martinsburg
367 reviews
8.1 mi away
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Motel 6 Martinsburg
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
191 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Knights Inn Martinsburg
Knights Inn Martinsburg
#7 of 14 in Martinsburg
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#6 of 14 in Martinsburg
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 1024 Winchester Avenue, Martinsburg, WV 25401-1668
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range: $55 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing