We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel 6 this is not a motel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Martinsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Westampton Township, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Hotel 6 this is not a motel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I think this Motel 6 needs a name change to Hotel 6! All it needs is a little complimentary breakfast snacks, tea and juice!! The rooms are absolutely updated and new and super clean! I think the staff is very nice! Meet Mr. Patel and ask him to take you on a tour of the family gardens!! The landscaping is beautiful the water falls and lighting outside are amazing!! I will be back and will be sure to tell my family and friends!!
Thanks Pat Patel!! From MJ (Ms Jacks)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parishivam2000, Manager at Motel 6 Martinsburg, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Motel 6 - Martinsburg, WV #4587

Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as a recognition and encouragement: as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience.

Thank you for sharing. We hope your next stay will be even better.

Sincerely,

Pat Patel
General Manager
Motel 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    24
    14
    5
    12
See reviews for
50
33
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pgh., Pa.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have stayed at this motel many times in the past three years. The upkeep is great. Rooms I've had are always clean and the owners/ front desk staff are as friendly as can be and always very helpful. Run by an European Indian family but up to highest standards. Don't be wary to stay here. Sits far enough back from the highway to be quiet. Wal mart and Sheetz gas station close.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dottielm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parishivam2000, Manager at Motel 6 Martinsburg, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Motel 6 - Martinsburg, WV #4587

Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as a recognition and encouragement: as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience.

Thank you for sharing. We hope your next stay will be even better.

Sincerely,

Pat Patel
General Manager
Motel 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights while visiting family and was just looking for a cheap place to lay down at night. The rooms are updated and have a flat screen and fridge/micro which is nice, the bed is comfy and clean to our knowledge. We just slept here and got ready which was enough for us. Unfortunately no pool which was a little upsetting. But overall decent stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parishivam2000, Manager at Motel 6 Martinsburg, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience at the Motel 6 - Martinsburg, WV #4587. Your feedback is very important to us.

At motel 6, we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet the expectations.

Rest assured appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Motel 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

PERHAPS this was not a normal situation for this hotel.. it appears that some spraying may have been done outside in the bushes around our room. There was a space under our door and although there were no noticeable insects in our room when we went to bed, there were dead beetles all over the floor (maybe 40 of them) by morning. More disturbing was the live ant I saw on my bed when I lay down and marching across the floor the next morning.. also a few dead roaches. Most disturbing was the lukewarm response when I called the front desk.."sorry about that, I will report it".Note of something positive would be the friendly helpful reception late at night, the Very modern décor was different and interesting, The hotel and parking lot was well lit up. For two ladies traveling late at night, this was a def plus. Good parking for the trailer we were pulling, and we felt safe there. The laminate floor felt sticky also.

Room Tip: I am not sure what to say as I do not know if the insect problem is ongoing or isolated. The respons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parishivam2000, Manager at Motel 6 Martinsburg, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience at the Motel 6 - Martinsburg, WV #4587. Your feedback is very important to us.

At motel 6, we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet the expectations.

Rest assured appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Motel 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were visiting the Martinsburg, WV area and needed an economical place to stay for one night that was easily accessible from the interstate. This motel fit that criteria, so we booked it. Check in and check out were easy processes. The pictures online are fairly representative of the rooms; they have been modernized and updated but, overall, the effect is a minimalist concept (think IKEA furnishings). Our room had a bed, a few shelves built into the walls, a mounted flat screen TV, a small fridge and microwave, and a small table, chair and tiny one-person bench built into the wall. The bathroom was clean with a good shower and a small cubby-hole shelf for towels; however, there was no hair-dryer or complimentary toiletry items at all. The bed mattress was fairly uncomfortable and the total of two pillows provided were flat and inadequate. The floors have no carpet, which can be a plus for allergies or dust, but it makes the room echo when you talk. During our stay, my husband needed the internet, but could not find a network. When we called the front desk to inquire (the website states the motel offers free Wi-Fi), we were told that the internet was down. We did have one small problem with our bedding not being clean, but we called the front desk and the problem was resolved right away. There is ample parking which is well-lit and there is a Walmart directly across the street from the motel, along with a Sheetz and a few small fast-food type restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlashandWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parishivam2000, Manager at Motel 6 Martinsburg, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience at the Motel 6 - Martinsburg, WV #4587. Your feedback is very important to us.

At Motel 6, we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet the expectations.

Rest assured appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Motel 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went to Myrtle Beach from Toronto, ON on May 17. We usually try and drive straight from Toronto to Myrtle beach, but this time we were beat and needed a room. We saw the Motel 6 sign and decided to stay. The rate was 45.99 single, and for double it was an additional $20. With taxes was like $75. The room was newly renovated and modern. It had an IKEA look to it, with wooden flooring, etc. The room was nice we thought and we needed the sleep. It was fine for us and we actually liked the new modern look.

Martinsburg WV, is about halfway in between the two cities so we decided that we would book a room for the way back and not try and drive any farther. Motel 6 Customer service rocks, they booked a room for us and gave us a similar rate. It was a bit more then before but because of Memorial Day weekend. Only a few dollers more, so no big deal. On the 2nd night stay on May 24 which was a Friday things were a bit different. The first room we got was really musty smelling. I complained and they were very apologetic and changed the room right away. New room was much better. Had a good shower, we ordered pizza, and had a good nights sleep. All good. The only down side was that there is not much around the hotel for restaurants. However, if you go south to the next exist, there is every restaurant and place under the sun including Olive Garden. Its only 10 mins away.

I filled out a Motel 6 Survey as well and sent it in. I gave them a glowing rating. The manager of the motel actually emailed me back and thanked me for the stay. That impressed me actually, as that has never happened before.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank putzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parishivam2000, Manager at Motel 6 Martinsburg, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
At Motel 6, we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet the expectations.

Rest assured appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Motel 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

While traveling from Pennsylvania to Alabama we stopped for the night in Martinsburg. This hotel is right off I-81 and displaying a big sign for $45.99. I checked in very tired and unwilling to negotiate a price, immediately the price changed to $67 per night. Suppossedly the $45 rate was a single bed for one person??? The rooms are cheap plank wood flooring and nasty, the beds are on plywood frames, and the bathroom is some new age retro I don't know el-cheapo throwback. There was hair in the tub, dirt on the floor, and half the lights and TV did not work; I was too tired to complain and left as soon as I could the next morning. I will never stay again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, even if it costs more money; don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horswhspr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parishivam2000, Manager at Motel 6 Martinsburg, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
At Motel 6, we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet the expectations.

Rest assured appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Motel 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinsburg
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Days Inn Martinsburg
Days Inn Martinsburg
#6 of 14 in Martinsburg
3.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Martinsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Martinsburg

Property: Motel 6 Martinsburg
Address: 5595 Hammonds Mill Rd, Martinsburg, WV 25404-6441 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Martinsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Located At I 81 Exit 20 Right Front Of Wal-mart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Martinsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Martinsburg
Martinsburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing