We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WON'T BE BACK”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Carefree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carefree Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Rochester, New York
1 review
“WON'T BE BACK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

My room was clean. Some of the other family members rooms wasn't so they had to be cleaned before they entered.They have a big problem with towels some days there wasn't any clean towels in the hotel at all.The service is terrible.This hotel is only ok if u are staying for one day.I plan to never return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOMO27-28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    4
    10
    23
See reviews for
22
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed here two nights traveling to and from N.C. The first attendant was pleasant, but clearly could have used a hand checking in people and helping other customers with rollaway beds. The beds were very uncomfortable, but as the reviews have stated, the rooms and bathrooms were clean. The windows were dingy as were the curtains. The air conditioner took all night to finally cool the room. The pool was clean, but the hours of use kept changing. On the way back from NC, we were looking forward to a swim, but was told the pool closed at 9:30. The previous stay we had been told 10pm. The next morning the sign read 9PM. We had asked for a rollaway bed for the return trip and informed the attendant that we would be arriving late. When we arrived the pool was closed, the rollaway bed was not in our room and the attendant asked us to change to a smoking room that already had a rollaway bed. When we declined, she said she would bring one up, all the time complaing about what a bad day she was having and how much her back hurt. After waiting for quite some time, and by now it was almost 10pm, I went back down to see about the bed and to see if she needed a hand and she was outside smoking. When we stayed the first night we found the toaster broken and the prepackaged jelly hard. I was nervous about eating there after that. The $50/night price was a great value and the bathrooms were very clean. We could not get on line while staying at this motel, but we didn't ask for any assistance either.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracylee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Martinsburg hotels

baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I was directed to this motel by Comfort Inn next door as they did not have non smoking rooms. To my surprise our stay was real memorable. At $55 I got 1) free wi-fi 2) A indoor heated pool and hot tub 3) Free continental breakfast. And above all definitely clean and spotless room. The staff was eversmiling and also very courteous. We were very impressed with our stay. At $55 how much can you expect from a budget motel. Thanks to Comfort Inn for guiding me to the right place.A very nice place for the value and staff is gr8.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

How to sum up this hotel - Repeat over and over This is a budget hotel. That being said how can you beat $44 a night for a roof over your head , hot shower and a small breakfast. Hopefully you like hard lumpy beds and pillows -.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

We were unable to get any sleep due to those in room next to use, fighting, cursing, slamming doors. The police were called after the Manager was unable to handle the situation. The people then returned later by the unlocked, side door and pounded on our door. The full time manager was rude and disrespectful when I made an attempt to discuss the matter.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanasug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

My family stayed at this motel on Thanksgiving day. The motel is defintely old but very neat and clean. The staff was courteous and very decent and helpful. The pool was fantastic. The breakfast was OK but being a budget motel you always have limited selection. The rooms looked in good shape and also very clean. i will definitely stay again and refer to my friends and family. Keep it up.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

My family and I stayed at this Rodeway Inn to attend a famiy retreat nearby. Check-in was no problem whatsoever. The lady at the front desk was friendly and courteous. We were placed in a poolside room. The hotel is older, but that really didn't matter to us. The room was a bit dark, but everything worked properly. There was plenty of hot water in the shower and the pressure was fine.
We were not able to go into the pool, but it looked beautiful. The hottub was out of service at that time. The continental breakfast consisted of boxed waffles, packaged danishes, cereals, juice, coffee and tea. The breakfast area was not at all busy, and there was a television to watch.
I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinsburg
4.7 mi away
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Motel 6 Martinsburg
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Martinsburg
Days Inn Martinsburg
#7 of 14 in Martinsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#5 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn

Property: Carefree Inn
Address: 94 McMillan Court, Martinsburg, WV 25401 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Carefree Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carefree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Martinsburg Hotel Martinsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing