We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carefree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carefree Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Moundsville, West Virginia
1 review
“Always a great stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stay every month at this hotel. The staff has always gone above and beyond to make me comfortable. The price is reasonable and anything I need is close by. I have never seen any bug of any kind in my room, my wife would kill me if I ever brought a bug home!! I have always enjoyed my stay at Rodeway Inn in Martinsburg, WV

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    4
    10
    23
See reviews for
22
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a family reunion in the area. We had 7 rooms. From the time we checked in til we checked out our stay was great. The staff was excellent. They made our stay a pleasure. As a habit we always check our rooms, especially the beds and the bathroom. The sheets and the bedding were very clean and the bathrooms were very clean also. We were very happy with the way our rooms looked. The downstairs rooms have a door that you can park outside of and a door into the hallway which makes it very convenient if you have a pet or a lot of luggage to carry. An added attraction was the pool and the Jacuzzi. The kids really enjoyed the pool and the Jacuzzi was very relaxing. You can also relax in the evening in their bar and grill. Another plus is that there are plenty of places to eat close to the hotel, most within walking distance. Grocery stores, Walgreens, and CVS are also close by. The price was reasonable and the best in the area. I don't know what some of these people are talking about but we had a great time. We will definitely stay here when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Plus people with guns hanging out in the lobby, if that is your thing.

Our room smelled bad when we got there, and their was a dead cockroach on the floor of the bathroom and cobwebs in the ceiling and under the bed. The sheets all had cigarette burns and odd stains. Woke up covered in bedbug bites. Plus, when we checked out we told the lady at the desk about the bedbugs, and her response was "OK, I'll let them know," without any sympathy or feigned surprise, like this kind of thing happens here all the time. Awful night, awful following few days of sanitizing every piece of clothing that made it into this hotel. If you're considering staying here, you'd be much better off just sleeping in your car.

Room Tip: Keep driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZachDC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Martinsburg hotels

Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This motel fails on every level possible in my book! My family and I stopped here because we were meeting a friend in town on our way to Washington, D.C. We had no reservations, so when we got here on our second try to find a vacancy we believed them when they said all the rooms in the area were full. We took a smoking room because it was one of only two, two Double Bed rooms left. We got to the room and the first thing I noticed was a blood spot on my sheet! I went to the desk and asked for another set of sheets. They don't have access to the sheets so they pulled the sheets from the other room. I went back and I made my own bed. I then went into the bathroom. BIG MISTAKE! The towels were stained and the bath mat had a huge hole in it! After looking around, the room was just plain dirty, the room key hardly, worked, there were cigarette burns in the sheet and bedspread, the wifi didn't work and the pool area smelled so bad it made me gag! The hot tub in the pool area had green water! A VERY GROSS experience from start to finish! If there was somewhere else we could have gone, we would have!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've been staying here 3-4 nights a week since August 2012. Debbie and the staff here can't do enough to make me comfortable. Fresh coffee every afternoon at the end of a long work day its the spot. Great rates for a clean comfortble room. I'd reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafetyGuy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

When I was quoted the price for the room at this motel, I knew that I was not staying anywhere fancy. That was okay. I was traveling with my sons basketball team and we where only going to be there for one night. Cheap to me meant, I would not have some of the standards I would get for higher priced accommodations at more reputable establishments. Cheap should never mean "just plain dirty." I checked in an out in less than 30 minutes. Everything was old and stained and smelled musty. I pulled the covers back on the bed and the linens were dirty. The bed comforters had cigarette holes and even blood stains. This was just nasty. Thank god we never brought our bags into the room, I'm sure there were critters there that would have tried to catch a ride with us to get out of the filth! The one good thing about the place - the lady that checked me in. She was very friendly and very understanding when I wanted to checkout!
I'm not sure who owns or is running this place but cleaniness is not on their radar!

Room Tip: Never settle for dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAC22580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Me and my faince had a very nice time we went to just get away from our home town and the staff was very friendly the food was good loved the room service. The room was a little dirty with ashes under and behind the bed but no big deal really the hot tub and pool could have been cleaner but it still was nice to be able to have those options which we got in the hot tub and enjoyed ourself. We had a nice time and it is what you pay for. so just depends what kind of person you are to make the best of things or not i mean it's cheap hotel they had alot to me for how much i paid

Room Tip: rooms on the far left def hear the train but it really aint to bad. Kings size room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinsburg
4.6 mi away
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Motel 6 Martinsburg
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Martinsburg
Days Inn Martinsburg
#6 of 14 in Martinsburg
3.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn

Property: Carefree Inn
Address: 94 McMillan Ct, Martinsburg, WV 25404-7266 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Carefree Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Carefree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Martinsburg Hotel Martinsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing