We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing and Awesome - The Quest Ends Here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Mountain Quest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mountain Quest
Ranked #2 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
st albans, wv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing and Awesome - The Quest Ends Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My 2 kids (12 & 15 ) and I were looking for a place to stay near Snowshoe and found this amazing and awesome retreat.

Barbara the Inn Keeper, David and Alex the owners and Andy the chief were all so nice and helpful. Great breakfast included !

The kids were so surprised and pleased with our stay in the African Safari room !

We already have another trip planned for the spring.

You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: African Safari - the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blue225tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
40
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Yes, it's out in the middle of nowhere-- about 17 miles from Snowshoe ski resort but it's PERFECT!

Rooms are so clean and beautiful-- you're free to roam the property, game room, library, kitchen and grounds without feeling "awkward". My 6-year LOVED the game room, huge array of DVDs, snacks and of course the pac-man arcade! My husband loved the "integrity" beer bar-- just keep your own tab and pay for your beer at the end of your stay. We did nothing except relax, tour the farm, go skiing, and simply enjoy being together for quality time. I do suggest you bring any snacks/food because the nearest little mart (which only carries basic items) is about a 20 minute drive. We loved this place!!!

Room Tip: Bring food and snacks-- the inn has some but not a huge selection. The dinner (we paid for) was AMA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athena1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our wonderful experience started before we arrived. When I called for availability, the innkeeper very patiently described each room available, noting the views and features of each and helping me pick the one I would like the best. The rooms have different bed configurations, and each has a separate theme- safari, nautical, outer space, etc. The owners, David and his wife Alex are very welcoming, and your arrival always starts with a tour of the inside of the property. This is a place to unplug and relax. The inn has wifi, but you will not have cell service, which was nice, it led to a lot more interactions with people. The rooms have tv, but they only play DVDs from the inn's 500+ collection. There is a wonderful family room with plenty of low tech entertainment- pool table, fooz ball, Arcade games, and satellite tv. The library is amazing, over 26,000 books. Breakfast is delish, Alex's culinary trained son is the chef. Kid's and adults will love the farm tour, where you can feed and interact with the horses, llamas, goats, cats, sheep, cattle. There's 6 miles of hiking trails on the property, and nearby the Greenbrier river trail offers 26 miles of biking and hiking. This is a wonderful and unique property, you will have a great time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tropicalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wonderful, secluded inn. My husband and I travelled here from Pennsylvania with our 1 yr old. Was a lovely experience that we will never forget. The Inn is located about 20 minutes from marlinton and has beautiful mountainous vistas. We travelled in a snowstorm and arrived very late. The owner was still awake to greet us upon arrival. Very caring innkeepers who are passionate about their work and are very accommodating to your needs.
The room was cozy and clean. We stayed in the Rustic Retreat which allows pets. They even have a giant dog bed available if you bring your pet with you.
They had a pack and play set up for our baby, and many extra blankets and toys set out for him as well. Very thoughtful

Breakfast was wonderful. The other reviews had said that they speak alot about spirituality during breakfast. This isn't true. They are very intelligent people who are educated extensively in the areas of neuroscience and awareness, but in no way do they push it upon you.
This retreat can be all about you doing what you want, relaxing, enjoying the scenery, animals and surrounding activities on your own. No one will bother you.
If you are interested in their services, it is also available to you and we highly recommend it.
My husband and I did a meditation exercise called hemi-sync. Alex prepared us for the exercise, and provided us with an ipod download of a guided imagery exercise for us to do on our own in the room. We found it to be very relaxing and enjoyable. We left feeling rejuvinated and more in touch with our personal spirituality. I also did an exercise with Alex called Quick pulse which I highly recommend.

The farm tour was fantastic as well. They let you feed the animals and talk about each one individually. The baby loved it
Wonderful experience! Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Rustic Retreat great for pets. Has bunk beds and a Queen, so great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breanna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The staff here are beyond welcoming and friendly. The room prices are great and for what you're getting, I'd even pay more. It's conveniently located near the ski lodge and other sites too. The views are spectacular; it's difficult not to wake up early just to watch the sunrise. My husband and I will be returning quite often and we'll probably bring the dog next time. It's a must see and stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulstess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We had not idea what to expect and were blown away by the experience. 14 private rooms each with a different theme had plenty of room and great accommodations. One room is dog friendly so book ahead and bring Fido. The main house has an extensive 2 story library, workout room with hot tub, pub and game room with big screen tv, pool table and miss pacman. There is an observation tower for star gazing, cafeteria, barns and farm animals and over 400 acres to roam. Mountain Quest is also conveniently located in the heart of Monongahela Forest hiking district. Highly recommend!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wipeoutwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Mountain Quest for the first time. I had family in for a funeral and this was the closest place to the homestead which is also in Frost. When I arrived I could not believe the setting. I got checked in and immediately fell in love with my room (The Rustic Retreat). I looked around a little and fell in love. After everyone returned we set outside with some friends and talked until well after Lights Out and no one seemed to care. Had a great nights sleep (given the circumstances) and what I woke up to in the morning I cannot put into words. I am very familiar with Pocahontas County and spend a lot of time there...but the serenity and solitude that awaited me in the morning is indescribable. My cousin and I took a walk early that morning, watched the deer, birds, and the fog slowly lift above the mountain as the sun came over the hill. What a way to clear your mind.
This was a perfect place to remove yourself from the hectic pace of normal life. Not being bothered by the cell phone ringing and having a hundred emails screaming at you daily was worth the trip if nothing else was (but it was!!). Having the opportunity to reconnect with nature and the gifts that God has given us was wonderful.
I do plan on going back and staying for a long weekend. While I didn't have the opportunity to participate in any activities on the farm this trip, I do plan to on the next trip and look forward to getting involved.
I cannot recommend this Inn enough. Especially if you are looking for a place to disconnect, unwind, and relax.

Room Tip: The rooms all have different bed configurations in them, so call and ask about them. There is someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
0.0 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mountain Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mountain Quest

Property: The Inn at Mountain Quest
Address: 303 Mountain Quest Ln, Marlinton, WV 24954-7122
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great choice for those looking to relax in a quiet country setting. More than just a Bed & Breakfast, our Inn is unique to the area with a modern wing of twelve individually themed guest rooms, each with a private bath. The luxury accommodations offer an array of amenities to guests. The 450 acre farm is centrally located in Pocahontas county and surrounded by National Forests and amazing local attractions. An overnight stay includes a heartycountry breakfast either served or tempting buffet.Mountain Quest also welcomes conferences, groups, retreats,family reunions, weddings and special occasions both large and small. • Community room featuring a bar, large screen TV, billiard table and fireplace • Four story, glass-domed Observation tower • Jacuzzi & Sauna • 23,000 volume Library • Labyrinth • Hiking trails • Farm tour - "Meet & Greet the Animals" horses, llamas, goats and longhorn cattle ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing