We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical and ethereal experience, and can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Mountain Quest
Ranked #1 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I had to go to Green Bank on business and there are just no hotels listed close by. A colleague of mine suggested Mountain Quest Inn/Retreat located in nearby Frost, WV. I looked at the website and the pictures really made me want to call. Upon arriving, owner David Bennett greeted me and took me on a tour. My room was so lovely. Called the Fantasy Room, the colors were inviting, the decor lush and plush, and the king sized bed had to be climbed into via matching steps! The entire experience can't be given justice by mere words on this site, but if you are looking for a beautiful out of the way place for a romantic getaway or even a place to vacation, you can't go wrong by going to Mountain Quest. The owners, husband and wife David and Alex, along with their professional chef and son, Andrew, are a delight to talk to, and are the tops in being accommodating, knowledgeable and hospitable. If you love nature, this is THE place to stay. If you love posh decor, this is THE place to stay. If you seek knowledge and insight, this is THE place to stay. Thank you for an unforgettable experience. Next time I come back it will be a personal stay and not business related!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarshaScorpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 125 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

We began regularly staying at the Inn at Mountain Quest just after it first opened. First visiting as a couple for a place to stay as a base hotel/office for our scenic photography trips, then vacationing with our teens, we now refer our clients and associates here. Our teens loved the atmosphere and entertainment options. Each room features a different theme with artifacts from some of the destinations Alex and David Bennet have visited abroad. We enjoy their game room which features billiards, video games, a large library of movies with the option to use their big screen TV or you may choose to escape to your own room for viewing. The game room also offers a bar for special events. We have enjoyed browsing their enormous two-story private library and watched as Santa entertained a continuous line of children from his library seat out their conference center doors into the farmyard where they had just been thrilled with a hayride. The Inn offers fitness facilities, a hot tub, computers for guests to use, an outdoor labyrinth, farmyard tours, hiking trails, meandering streams. If fortunate, we not only enjoy each mornings breakfast by Andrew, their gourmet Chef, we also have been personally served special dinners arranged in advance or went off to shoot photos for the day with perfect sack lunches created especially for us. And most importantly, after relaxing, if your mind needs stimulated with inspiration and excellent conversation, the owners are well-versed in most subjects. Yes, it appears they actually read most of those volumes from within their library and have a broad wealth of information to share when asked. Why did we first venture here? We were inspired by the majestic beauty of the mountains in the Monongahela National Forest, the Highland Scenic Highway and the many rocky mountain streams filled with trout and rushing waters.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular. Africa, Fantasy, Scholars have been our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at Mountain Quest for one night. The setting is lovely, the rooms are unique, and the Inn was built with guests' comfort in mind. They have videos, games, a massive library, a piano, walking trails, and a working farm to explore. Breakfast was quite good, and they were very accommodating throughout our stay. We found ourselves wishing we could stay longer. Thinking back, the only thing that would make us pause before returning to Mountain Quest (and the reason for four stars instead of five) is some of the spiritual discussions initiated by the hostess during breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luvtravels33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

As Activities Director for the Roanoke Ski Club I organized a weekend visit to the Inn at Mountain Quest to enjoy the lovely fall season and the many activities in the area. The Inn, the rooms, meals, Inn Keepers, staff, etc., etc., were all absolutely THE BEST! What a wonderful weekend we all had with a trip already in the making for next October 2013 and possibly some visits through the winter combined with skiing at Snowshoe! Everything I had read and heard prior to our visit was nothing but positive however, nothing prepared us for the actual visit! I just cannot say enough for this "jewel" in the mountains of West Virginia. Alex, David, son/Andrew were so gracious and accommodating in every way.

Room Tip: We had the King/Fantasy room and it was very comfortable, nice bath, comfortable sofa/chairs, large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This accomodation is beyond unique. Each of the 12 rooms are decorated around a theme and all items--towels, bed linens, wall-hangings, etc--contribute to the room's theme. The owners have made accessible their private collection of books, games, kaliedoscopes, miniature carousels in a 3-story library area. Also included is a bar, pool table, large-screen TV, hot-tub, exercise area, and free laundry facilities. The chef wasn't on site when we were there, each guest ordered their food which was prepared to your liking. This B&B was definitely unlike any other we have ever experienced. We would stay again if we were in the area. Our only criticism would be that the building that houses the guests' rooms need to be pressure washed and given a fresh coat of paint.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We loved The Inn at Mountain Quest. My husband planned our trip to WV and I had no idea where we were to be staying. The Inn at Mountain Quest was a wonderful surprise. We loved the farm atmosphere and the owners, Alex and David, were such great hosts. They went out of their way to make our stay a great experience and we really enjoyed talking with them. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast type place and the experience was wonderful. We enjoyed meeting the other people staying at the Inn, learning where they were from and what they were doing during their stay. We really liked the privacy of a room with its own outside entrance and private bath. There are 12 separate rooms and each one is decorated with a different theme. The main house features a huge library with a grand piano that is open to anyone who chooses to play and a community rec room with a large selection of DVD's. There are also computers available to guests, a small workout area and free laundry facilities. The Inn had everything we were looking for - a lovely setting, peace and quiet and all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay. If we ever go back to WV we would definitely stay at the Inn again and try out one of the other unique rooms. Thanks to Alex and David and the staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique. We stayed over Labor Day and booked kind of late so we only had a choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vickie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just got back from a great visit to The Inn at Mountain Quest. The owners are delightful folks who treat you with warm hospitality. My husband, myself and my children all enjoyed our visit. It was a great time to unwind and let the worries leave you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
11.2 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
77 reviews
11.2 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
69 reviews
12.6 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,609 reviews
16.5 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
226 reviews
17.3 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mountain Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mountain Quest

Address: 303 Mountain Quest Ln, Marlinton, WV 24954-7122
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range: $165 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great choice for those looking to relax in a quiet country setting. More than just a Bed & Breakfast, our Inn is unique to the area with a modern wing of twelve individually themed guest rooms, each with a private bath. The luxury accommodations offer an array of amenities to guests. The 450 acre farm is centrally located in Pocahontas county and surrounded by National Forests and amazing local attractions. An overnight stay includes a heartycountry breakfast either served or tempting buffet.Mountain Quest also welcomes conferences, groups, retreats,family reunions, weddings and special occasions both large and small. • Community room featuring a bar, large screen TV, billiard table and fireplace • Four story, glass-domed Observation tower • Jacuzzi & Sauna • 23,000 volume Library • Labyrinth • Hiking trails • Farm tour - "Meet & Greet the Animals" horses, llamas, goats and longhorn cattle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Mountain Quest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing