We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Spot in Marlinton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Save
You added Old Clark Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Spot in Marlinton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Really nice B&B right in the downtown. Not fancy but friendly, reasonably priced and clean.
Extra value for motorcyclists with covers, air, cleanup materials and lovely front porch on manicured grounds.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    27
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
38
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Each year I, along with a small group of motorcycling buddies, choose a place to meet to enjoy some good rides and have a few laughs. This year we chose to explore West Virginia and the Monongahela National Forest which resulted in setting up base camp at the Old Clark Inn in Marlinton.

We aren't a group of hardcore "bikers" by any stretch so if you are looking for a place to tear up and throw beer cans out the windows, we hope you'll go elsewhere. However, if you are looking for a *clean* place to stay with a host who is knowledgeable of can't-miss roads - then the Old Clark Inn is your place.

Marlinton is small but the Old Clark is right in town where you can easily walk for food, a beer or cup of joe - without gearing up to get on your cycle. What's more is that the Inn is moto-friendly and has a station available to store your bike out of the rain and clean your bike for the next day's ride.

What we liked best was the owner's willingness to set us up with everything we needed for backyard cookout and eagerness to tell us about the excellent roads to tour nearby. I personally was a big fan of how clean and orderly everything was kept. Being mostly technology professionals by day, we probably like the slow internet connectivity the least but hey, we should have left that stuff behind anyway ;-)

PS - My bike broke down on the last day's ride and Nelson went the extra mile to have a mechanic look it over and help me arrange for transport back home. He gave me a lift where I needed to go and got me on the road. First class guy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithcaseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

The Old Clark Inn is the best place to stay in Marlenton, WV. The inn keepers are very friendly, knowlageble and aim to please. The inn is clean, cozy and homey. If you are looking for luxery you probably won't be in Marlington. This was my 3rd stay and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bynwgnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Arrived at the Old Clark Inn after a long soggy day of motorcycling across West Virginia. We were greeted at the door by Andrea and welcomed into the warm, clean and homey inn. Andrea immediately invited us to use the dryer to get our riding gear and wet clothes dry then showed us around the place.
The rooms aren't huge, but are comfortable and spacious enough for stowing luggage and resting. Bathrooms are clean and easily accessible.
We chatted for a bit with Nelson, the other innkeeper, that evening and the next morning. He shared some great route advice for our ride. We told motorcycling stories and again felt very welcomed.
During the evening we sat in the living room and chatted with some fellow visitors. My dad and I took advantage of the free wi-fi to catch up on email and look at possible routes.
In the morning Andrea prepared a pleasant continental breakfast complete with yogurt, fruit, cereal, scones and coffee.
Not only will I go back, but I am trying to figure out a way to get back immediately. Thank you Andrea and Nelson!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

A very nice, very quiet inn that is perfect for the daytime bicyclist/adventurer. The manager provides an option to drop you and your bike North or South of the Inn on the Greenbriar trail and can recommend good restaurants in the area not because he gets a kickback, but because they are places he enjoys. Great Inn!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMERITRASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

My wife and I were the only guests the one night we stayed. Nelson is a very attentive and personable host. We found our room to be very clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was just what we wanted and the coffee was delicious.
I would definately recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rotdog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights on our annual motorcycle trip. The Inn was very clean and the innkeepers, Nelson & Andrea were very friendly and made us feel right at home. Our room was impeccabbly clean and nicely furnished with an antique sleigh bed. Nelson was very helpful in helping us plan our day trips. The Inn is very motorcycle friendly with an overhang for bikes and a wide selection of cleaning materials, covers and security cameras. We ate at one of the few restaurants in town, The Greenbrier Restaurant, which was good basic food at a good price. Despite the fact that the town has seen better days, it is very clean and inviting. Marlinton is a good central base location for exploring West Virginia.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NY-HAWGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
14.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
13.6 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
14.0 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 3,964 reviews
20.5 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Property: Old Clark Inn
Address: 702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience. We are a popular, old-timey, small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Relaxed and Informal, Free Breakfast, High-speed Internet Access, American Owned Mom & Pop, In Town, Walk to Restaurants & Shops. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing