We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A motorcyclist's paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Save
You added Old Clark Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New London, CT
1 review
“A motorcyclist's paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

This marks the fourth year in a row I've spent the Memorial Day weekend at the Old Clark Inn. The owners are extremely accomodating. The Inn is very affordable, and is geared towards bikers... both pedal powered and gas-powered! They have a covered area to park several motorcycles, and provide an air compressor and and some cleaning ammendities. I felt that my motorcycle was very secure overnight.

Nelson is very knowledgable in regards to the local roads, as he is an avid motorcyclist himself. The roads around Marlinton are fantastic, with many switchbacks and twisties going up and down the many mountains and hills.

Forget Deal's Gap... go to Marlinton and enjoy twisties that are just as plentiful and challenging, but without the traffic!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emtben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    27
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
38
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

After reading the reviews on Trip advisor we booked a three night stay at the Old Clarke Inn. The Inn is in a mixed residental commercal neighborhood, and in fact the front faces a lumbar yard.

We visited in their low season, mid week in winter, to hike and ski.
For two nights we were their only guests.

The room was small but very well clean. Our bed squeaked even when barely moving to turn over in bed. The innkeepers immediately tended to the problem, actually changing out the box spring.

The town of Marlinton is small and struggling, so do not expect much in the way of dining or shopping.

  • Liked — Inn keepers helpful and access to a miscrowave and refreg
  • Disliked — Dark rooms including the living room and bedroom, no night table or ledge for one of us
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pinzabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

My husband and I, along with 5 other friends, stayed at the Old Clark Inn at Marlinton, WV. the last weekend of Sept 2008. We had planned to bicycle the Greenbrair River trail. We found the accommadations to be very pleasant, comfortable, clean. But the Innkeepers made our visit very special. It rained all day Saturday for our bike ride. Every piece of clothing we were wearing was soaked. There were washer and dryers for us to use. We did not have to worry about where we were going to put all of our wet clothes. They also let use use newspaper to help dry our sneakers and then had a fan blowing over then all night. It was amazing. We had dry clothes and DRY sneakers for the next day. They went above and beyond my expectations to help us be comfortable to ride our bikes over 150 miles.
The rooms were just like home. The breakfast was feast for kings (which helped give us energy for the bike ride) The front porch was great at night to relax. The back yard also had benches and tables for us to use.
I am looking forward to the nexr visit at the Old Clark Inn.
I recommend this Inn to everyone
Joyce and Roger McRae, Montgomery, Pa

  • Liked — The Inn keepers
  • Disliked — The road gettig there
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ilenecharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and I were excited to stay at this Inn. It sounded lovely, walking distance to town, etc. Our room was very small and I knew that it was going to be. The bathroom had a high step and the sink was in the bedroom. The disappointment was finding our bed unmade and towels not replaced when we returned from our outing. The continental breakfast was very sparse. (We ate at a nearby restaurant). The town had seen better days. We didn't see one shop that was opened. Everything that the owners advertised on their website was exaggerated. We never saw the dog. I heard the dog bark once and heard the patter of his feet once. We will not go back to Pocahantas County. We left earlier than planned and had to pay a large cancellation fee.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bedroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2008
“Our room was very small and I knew that it was going to be.”
We made a point of explaining that it was a smaller room and that options were limited on the dates requested as we are often full that time of year.
“The bathroom had a high step and the sink was in the bedroom.”
The Old Clark was built in 1924, when sinks in the room were the norm and bathrooms were always shared. Over the years bathrooms were added to accommodate the changing demands, the raised floor was the only practical way to get plumbing into the rooms. It’s part of the charm of an older historical building, but step-free rooms are also available.
“The disappointment was finding our bed unmade and towels not replaced when we returned from our outing.”
Like most inns of this type and price range, we do not offer maid service. Additional linens are provided on request (as posted in rooms). Most people are aware of this or would ask if they are unfamiliar with the protocol.
“The continental breakfast was very sparse.”
By definition, a continental breakfast is a light breakfast consisting typically of coffee and rolls. Our free continental breakfast actually included bagels with cream cheese, Danish/muffins/sweet bread, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, at least 2 kinds of fresh fruit, assorted cereals and oatmeal, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, milk and juice. There was a full hot breakfast served on the weekend.

“The town had seen better days.”
Yes, like many small towns across America, Marlinton has seen better days. But, as more people are discovering the recreational opportunities of the area the town is beginning to reinvent and revitalize itself with a number of new businesses and services. Marlinton is a real town with real people and real Appalachian culture. We are proud to be a part of it.

“We didn't see one shop that was opened.”
There are several small locally owned shops in town. ..most do close at 5pm,which is understandable in a town of only 1200 people. There are no T-shirt shops or fancy galleries here….just regular folks like us trying to make a living in a place we love.

“Everything that the owners advertised on their website was exaggerated.”
The reviewer neglected to specify what was exaggerated. We have an information based website that does not make any claims whatsoever. We have received a lot of praise for our straight-forward no-fluff website and if you spend any time on it then you should know exactly what to expect.

“We never saw the dog. I heard the dog bark once and heard the patter of his feet once.”
We are not even sure what is being complained about here...did they want to see the dog (or hear him)? We are upfront about having a dog (his picture hangs at our check-in window) but also aware and respectful that some people are not comfortable around dogs. We are diligent in our efforts to keep our dog from disturbing our guests, but, of course, happy to oblige when someone asks to play with Willie.

“We will not go back to Pocahantas County.”
Pocahontas County is not for everyone...it is Nature’s Mountain Playground...not Pigeon Forge, not Dollywood, not Myrtle Beach. Pocahontas County is considered one of the most beautiful places on the east coast, with thousands of acres of National Forest and endless winding scenic roads. This is an explorer’s paradise… if you want a tourist town with fine dining, strip malls and chain hotels, you can find them along any major interstate.

“We left earlier than planned and had to pay a large cancellation fee.”
The reviewer neglected to state the reason they left early. Their trip was cut short due to a personal emergency and they also had to cancel their reservation on the Cass Scenic Railroad---for which they were offered no refund at all. We issued a partial refund in accordance with the policy that is posted on our information based website and which was also explained when the reservation was made. We wish we could absorb the cost of last minute cancellations, but we are a small business and without adequate notice we are unable to recoup our loss.

We are somewhat hurt by the fact that we were totally unaware that this couple was so displeased. Though we are available 24 hours a day, they never brought any issues to our attention, but instead chose to write a vague and mean spirited review. We hope that you will not base your lodging decision on one review. We encourage you to seek out other reviews of our establishment on TripAdvisor as well as Yahoo Travel. You may also obtain references from the Pocahontas County Convention and Visitors Center and the Pocahontas County Chamber of Commerce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

I have stayed here numerous times going back to 2005. I have done motorcycle vacations with my brother and bicycle rides on the trail. Marlinton is a great starting point for both and The Old Clark Inn is a wonderful place to stay. They are friendly and there is a comfortable feel about the place

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cupojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

The Old Clark Inn is situated in Marlinton, WVA - a classic small town with close proximity to some of the mid-Atlantic's best outdoor scenery. The owners, Nelson and Andrea are totally focused on the comfort of their guests and will find a way to help solve any need or desire. Our group was in town for a three day bike tour on the Greenbrier River Trail and we discovered immediately that The Old Clark Inn is particularly well suited for bike riders with air pumps, storage areas for bikes and a wonderful front porch to gather before the big ride. As I had learned from my first stay in 2007, their operation embodies the true meaning of accommodation and consideration when it comes to making their customers happy. I am already looking forward to my next stay at The Old Clark Inn.

  • Liked — The toal dedication of the owners to quality and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JimHikerBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Old Clark Inn twice now, and both times I've been impressed with the friendliness of the owners and their efficiency. They run a tight ship. The rooms are small but immaculate and it's conveniently located right by the Greenbrier Trail. If you're planning a trip to Pocahontas County it's an excellent place to say and very inexpensive (we paid $65 for one weekday night). While you're in Marlington, be sure and stop by the Dirt Bean (right around the corner from the Inn), it's a neat little locally owned coffee shop and a fun place to go for a snack or a cup o' joe. I also recommend splurging for dinner at the Firefly at Snowshoe resort, everything I've had there is y-u-m-m-y.

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — The bathroom. It was extremely clean, but the sink and the bathroom are in 2 different rooms, and there's a step to the bathroom that could catch a sleepy person off-guard.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ekatkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
0.0 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
3.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
14.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
13.6 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 4,074 reviews
13.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Property: Old Clark Inn
Address: 702 3rd Ave, Marlinton, WV 24954-1142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience. We are a popular, old-timey, small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Relaxed and Informal, Free Breakfast, High-speed Internet Access, American Owned Mom & Pop, In Town, Walk to Restaurants & Shops. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing