We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Simple, Rustic, Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Save
You added Old Clark Inn to your Saves list
702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF Standard Room
Ranked #1 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simple, Rustic, Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Old Clark Inn is a great self-serve bed and breakfast. Don't expect to be coddled, but the place is well set up to meet your needs very comfortably. Super-well situated in downtown Marlinton, easy walking to the Greenbrier River Trail and local eateries. The Inn is very clean and very well managed, with efficient and affable service and very nice, rustic rooms. Breakfast is simple but good. There is very comfortable living room and a great porch for relaxing and visiting. We found the Old Clark to be a casual, wonderful place for relaxing after a busy outdoors day. It seemed most appropriate for "active" travelers. Don't expect lots of personal attention or service, but everything you'll really need will be adequately provided - along with explicit posted instructions to help yourself. We'll look forward to staying there again. A 60's cycling couple

Room Tip: Price is great; get a room with its own bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomtrip44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We applaud you for sharing your experience with the inn and the area in a positive and informative way. Both the Old Clark Inn and your fellow TripAdvisor users thank you.

“Adventure without risk is Disneyland.” – Doug Coupland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    27
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
38
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I just took my second ever long distance solo motorcycle trip and decided to stay at this place. I just can't say enough about it. There is a secure area under video surveillance for you to park your motorcycle. There is even a hose, soap and towels to wash your bike if you want. Something that I really appreciated after 2 full days in the saddle; my bike was filthy.

The inn is like staying at a friend's house and your host and hostess treat you like you are old friends. The room was simple, cozy and very clean. What was really neat was to see all of the guests gather together on the porch or at breakfast and compare notes on motorcycles and trips. The location is wonderful and a central point to go riding on any number of local routes. This was one of my best travel experiences ever. I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaviorPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Creek, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Old Clark Inn on a motorcycle trip. Nelson is a great host, always looking to set his guests up with great riding options. He recommended a nice day full of both fire roads and twisties. During our first trip Nelson and Andrea organized a backyard cookout for our group which was awesome. Nelson also helped our friend arrange for transport when his motorcycle broke down on the last day. I'll gladly stay here again whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed overnight at Nelson & Andrea's Old Clark Inn to launch a 68 mile bike camping trip on the Greenbrier River Trail. The Inn is a nice old house, renovated and charming. I was immediately comfortable with the surroundings. In the fenced back yard there is a bike rack for 10 - 12 bikes - we had 6 and it wasn't a problem. We took a few top floor rooms with 2 single beds to a room and found them great for sleeping - comfortable and quiet. 2 shared bathrooms with shower on the 2nd floor were large and clean.
Andrea and Nelson welcomed us as if we were part of the family and we felt right at home. The breakfast room was well-stocked with muffins, fruit and yogurt, and plenty of coffee and tea. It's located in the center of town, two blocks away from the Food Store, Dorie's Restaurant (with homemade food and prices from the 1980's but don't be in a rush 'cause they aren't), and one block to the Greenbrier River Trail.
My hat's off to Andrea and Nelson for making a down-home B&B where you are comfortable and welcome...year after year. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: It's an old brick house on a quiet corner 1 block off Main Street. Rooms should all be quiet wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeepman-92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Amanda and Nelson are wonderful hosts at this vintage lodging. All the plumbing fixtures appear to have been recently updated and the beds provide for a very comfortable sleep. Rooms are a bit snug and A/C window units are noisy. But for the four nights of our stay on probably the warmest week of the year (80s in Marlinton), we mainly got by with the large paddle fan without the A/C each night. Marlinton is a small working town with many commercial establishments surrounding the inn. But nights during the week of our stay were quiet and we enjoyed relaxing on the large front porch in the early mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodskiRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I spent a week at the Old Clark Inn on a bussiness trip. I was very pleased with the service I received. Because I would be leaving each morning before breakfast was put out, Andrea was nice enough to leave me a little basket of assorted breakfast items on the counter with my room number on it. My room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay at the Old Clark again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3anders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our group of friends stayed at the Old Clark Inn with innkeepers Andrea & Nelson. What a find this place was! It was our fist stay in Marlington, WV. We had come to the area to complete a 50 mile ride along the Green Brier river trail and decided to try the Old Clark Inn. The innkeepers were knowledge and friendly. The price was very affordable. Our stay at this Old Clark Inn was the perfect compliment to an excellent trip.

Room Tip: All room were nice. Some have a private bath & cost a little more, other have a shared bath and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuickAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
14.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
13.6 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
13.4 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 3,941 reviews
20.5 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Property: Old Clark Inn
Address: 702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience. We are a popular, old-timey, small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Relaxed and Informal, Free Breakfast, High-speed Internet Access, American Owned Mom & Pop, In Town, Walk to Restaurants & Shops. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing