We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near the Greenbrier Rail Trail”
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, PA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good location near the Greenbrier Rail Trail”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

On the plus side, Old Clark Inn is located only a block or so from the Greenbrier Rail Trail and the owners are quite friendly and helpful. On the minus side, bathrooms are shared, the facility is older and the rooms are quite small. If your expectations are not set too high however, this is the place for you.

Cereal, coffee, and a very limited selection of pastry and fruit make up the breakfast. Adequate, but minimal.

The place is a work in progress as the owners continually strive to improve this older building. Don't expect anything fancy though.

The Old Clark Inn is geared to both motorcyclists and bicycle enthusiasts. The location near the bike trail is very handy. A covered area in the rear yard provides great storage for bikes and there is also a compressor to fill your tires. The owners know the area well and can provide helpful information on the sights to see and in finding a place to eat.

There is not much to do in Marlinton but the Old Clark Inn is as good a place to stay as any in the area while you're passing through.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
We truly appreciate a guest taking the time to review us and will usually let the review stand on its own. In this case however, the reviewer has presented some incorrect information that we would like to clarify:

Most of our rooms DO have private baths. Rooms with shared bath are also available as an option for those traveling on a budget or with a group.

During our busy season (May-Oct), our continental breakfast consists of the following:
Assorted bagels with cream cheese and peanut butter and jelly, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, at least 2 kinds of seasonal fresh fruit, an assortment of cereals and oatmeal, danish or muffins/scones, milk, juice, coffee, assorted teas & hot chocolate.

There is plenty to do in Marlinton, depending on your interests. It is true that you will not find tourist shops or outlet stores, but in addition to the extensive outdoor recreational opportunities, we also have a variety of mom & pop businesses along with historical and cultural venues.

The Old Clark Inn opened it's doors in 1924 as The Clark Hotel. It has been in continuous operation since then and we have been maintaining and upgrading it for the past 8 years. We do not market ourselves as new or fancy, but rather we are proud to offer travelers a unique old-fashioned lodging experience.

We actively encourage people to visit our website for an accurate portrayal of our inn. Please call us if you have any questions or concerns...we are always happy to provide details about our area and our inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
44
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville NC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Marlinton is ground zero for riders coming through West Virginia. You can base here for a long weekend and easily ride four loops with hardly a duplicated section.
This was my fourth stay at Old Clark Inn, going back six years or so. The owners are committed riders and a wealth of info on local places and things. The inn itself is not fancy, but quite comfortable and clean. This part of the state is a cell-free zone, so the guest computer in the living room is welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MovingMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The old Clark seems to be the place in marlinton for the savvy traveler. With evidence of half hearted attempts to accommodate travelers of all purposes, scattered around the town, the oci delivers. Not a hint of the place being eorse for the wear - especially so close to a popular ski resort. Incredibly friendly and efficient staff, immaculate cleanliness, and home like decor will make you feel like
your money was well spent. My friends and I got two rooms and a
shared bath. Please treat these people with kindness and respect their efforts.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bipeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This place is really nice, clean, convenient and run by a great couple. My wife and I ride motorcycles and also bicycle (tandem). They provide a small covered port for both motorcycles and bicycles. It's right on the Greenbrier Rail Trail, 80 miles of riverfront riding. It's a wonderful trail (hard-packed small gravel--okay for any tire bigger than a thin road bike) and lots of things to do/see including some cool tunnels and classic steam engine train ride at one end. Lots of wildlife to see as well as deer, bunnies, and ground hogs. The roads around the area are just spectacular: http://www.pocahontascountywv.com/Files/FInalMotorcycle2010.pdf .
You can ride for days and never get bored. The food can be a hit or miss in the area, especially breakfast if you're out riding. This is a B&B and they have an adequate meal if you eat early. There's lots of hiking as well and the Inn keepers will keep you well informed on what you can do. A small gem in the middle of WV!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowtiebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Nelson and Andrea were good hosts and they had a washing machine for our use!
The breakfasts were tasty and healthy and the front porch and back yard firepit allowed for interaction and conversation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank railstotrailsbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Well, another year has gone by and the OCI delivers once again. From the reservation process, check-in, breakfast, cleanliness and the overall service that Nelson & Andrea provide was once again...the highlight of the trip. A new restaurant in town called the "River Inn" has a VERY limited menu but they do what they offer VERY well. Best wings I have ever had. This was my groups 5th year at the OCI over Memorial Day Weekend and just like all the others....it was amazing. If you are looking for a very friendly stay, a very relaxing atmosphere, and the "At Home" experience....let Nelson & Andrea and the OCI take care of you. You WILL NOT find a nice place to stay in Marlinton, WV.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_Wheeled_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night on our way to Snowshoe for skiing. Our ski passes and lodging package started the next day and we wanted an economical place to stay that was nearby. Check-in went smoothly and we were given an upgraded room, which was a nice surprise. The room was on the small size but very comfortable and was exactly what we needed after driving all day. We had use of the common areas. We ordered pizza from the Snak Shak just down the road and relaxed with a drink in the living room w/ fireplace. In the morning, they served coffee/tea/juice and had oatmeal, some breads, cereal, and fruit. The next day it took us about a half hour to get to Snowshoe. There was another guest who was staying here who had a lift ticket on, so he found it convenient enough to ski at snowshoe during the day and stay at this B&B at night.
It is more of an economy B&B (smaller rooms, continental vs. hot breakfast) with all the comfort and charm of higher end B&B's. We will definitely stay again next year during our annual Snowshoe trip and highly recommend the Old Clark Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapkyc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
2.9 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
58 reviews
16.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
143 reviews
20.7 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
53 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Property: Old Clark Inn
Address: 702 3rd Ave, Marlinton, WV 24954-1142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience! A popular small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Casual atmosphere, free breakfast and in-room WiFi, in town-walking distance to restaurants and shops. A genuine old-time American-owned "Mom & Pop" business. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing