We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic Biking Trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbrier River Trail

Greenbrier River Trail
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Biking Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Male, late 60's, rode 73 of the 77 miles in 2 days. Beautiful in every mile, almost all of it canopied with trees, often great river views, trail smooth, very gently sloped and very well maintained (I encountered exactly 1 notable rock in the entire trip). Fully sufficient bathrooms and rest stops, and very good signage and mile markers. Able to average 11 mph without difficulty.

Marlinton is really the only trailside town - be sure to carry food/drink/repair items for other miles. Note the general absence of cell-phone service from Cass to below Marlinton. Marlinton likely can meet all basic food, shelter, and bike repair needs.

Good map (Read ALL of it!)

If you plan to be picked up by car, make certain to study exactly where and on which roads to meet; intercept points are not always obvious for drivers.

Surprised at absence of bathrooms at southern terminus.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomtrip44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for birding and peaceful hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We actually entered the trail in Caldwell, West Va, but it's not a choice we had to select. It is well maintained, peaceful, wide, low on people traffic and could spoil you for other trails. We would love to bike this path as it looks like a pretty painless ride for 78 miles. This is definitely a trail we would recommend and go back to ourselves.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mulan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“unwind on a leisurely meander in the Appalachian mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I try to go here once a year. It's a rail-trail, meaning a bike/hike trail that used to be a railroad line. These rail trails have become our favorite weekend getaways! They're away from road traffic, they're in gorgeous scenic areas and the grade is almost unnoticeable (meaning there are no hills to negotiate!. The Greenbrier trail follows the Greenbrier River most of the way so you can take a dip if it's hot out. Bring a picnic in your backpack and enjoy the day. We generally rent bikes from a local outfitter and take their shuttle up the trail about 14 miles, then ride back to the starting point (the bike shop). Can't beat it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LBSBSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent bike camping trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice, relatively flat trail perfect for biking, walking, running, horseback riding that runs along the scenic Greenbrier River. Good campsites along the trail with firepits, iron grates, water and toilets and tent pads at some sites. Bring a water filter to be safe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeepman-92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Greenbrier River trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very well maintained mostly paved trails. Very peaceful and beautiful. Many places to enter the trail.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbrier River Trail also viewed

 

Been to Greenbrier River Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing