We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving”

Greenbrier Grille and Lodge
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Marlinton
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We came across this place when we found out that there was no food available at the Mountain Lodge up at Snowshoe and we weren't even sure if we were in the right place at first because it doesn't have the name showing but they were AMAZING. It doesn't look like very much but we went two nights in a row and were very happy both times, the food was wonderful, the staff was so nice and the prices were great. You can even buy corn feed for 50 cents to feed the ducks off the porch. This place was a lifesaver and very tasty!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelinLady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    32
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Okay, nothing out of the ordinary...”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Clean, decent food, nice to sit on the deck beside the river...nothing out of the ordinary. Service was a bit slow but no big deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ate several meals here during our recent trip.
The food was good for the price. Best meal was the Sunday roasted chicken. Fabulous. Worst meal was the Skinny Chicken- don't bother with this one. Breakfast was good. Service was good but rather slow, so don't go if you are in a hurry.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnitaLCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans WV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to eat homemade in Marlinton”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food seemed to be homemade and tasted very good. Nothing fancy here. I had the spaghetti and meatballs dinner that came with salad bar and garlic bread. Salad bar was very limited but the variety of greens offered were tasty. The garlic bread was also great! My husband had the turkey dinner and said it was delicious. We also had breakfast there. I had the ham and cheese omelet with toast. Again, excellent taste and cooked just right. My husband had one of the large breakfast platters that included a little bit of everything and couldn't finish it. Pancakes were huge and homemade!
I LOVED the free Wi-Fi, especially since I didn't have cell service in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank toni_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowshoe, West Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, food only ok.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Love eating on the deck overlooking the Greenbrier River, but the food is only ok. Deep fried green beans are yummy. Everything else is only ok. Wish they would redo the menu.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rondi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbrier Grille and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Greenbrier Grille and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing