We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub
Nearby Hotels
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Knapp's Creek Trout Lodge(Marlinton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
73
10
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
10
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubshuttle servicealmost heavenfront porchcass railroadspent two nightsthursday nightpocahontas countyhot tubmain floorlots of funcrab cakesbike shuttlehope to returntop floorgreat place to stayevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 87 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the cabin for NYE 2013, for 3 nights and four days. We had a group of 6 couples and we had a great time. We booked this cabin after deciding last minute to go Skiiing/Snowboarding at Snowhsoe for the New Year Holiday. Everything on the mtn was booked solid or super over priced. My husband called the tourism board of WV and they recommend this Cabin. We arrived on Saturday to a clean and warm Cabin with snow on the ground. If you are looking for a super secluded mtn cabin, this is not what you are looking for. There is a minor road that runs in front of the Cabin & B&B, but the noise is hardly audibly from inside the cabin.

The drive to Snowshoe Ski Resort was about 45 minutes to an hour depending on road conditions. The ground was covered in snow and it snowed throughout our stay, on & off. Temperatures were as low as 13 degrees and as high as 34. The road was always treated and clear for the most part, you just have to be slow and cautious! We never had any problems in our Jeep Rubicon or Toyota Tundra.

After a long day of snowboarding on NYE, my husband and I soaked in the Hot Tub while temps were in the low 20s outside, and the Hot Tub was very hot and felt amazing! Dave was very informative and helped get us antiquated with the Hot Tub setting upon our arrival.

Yes, the Bedroom does not have a door. But the cabin is pretty spacious and open, with inside noise coming in all over, not just through the doorway. If you need peace and quite and have a big group, this might not work for you. But we had no problems with nose, but we are a very close group of friends. We put a sheet up on the door frame and privacy was ours.

The kitchen was quaint with an old school gas stove (took us a minute to figure out). The dishes and cups are minimal. There is a coffee pot, but no filters. There is no dishwasher, so yes, some of the dishes were not 100% spotless, but no a big deal after you wash them once over before using them. We brought our electric skillet from home and that was a life saver. The cooking pans are minimal, especially for a large group.

NYE was a blast, we rode sleds down the front yard of the B&B and had blast! Then Dave started a fire pit (in a can) for us. Which was also very nice. However, he only had old construction debris (a fence) to burn, I would have preferred real logs, but it was still warm!

There are lots of deer on the property! The scenery is amazing and The small town of Marlinton has all the essentials you may need within a 5 minute drive.

Compared to the prices to stay the Snowshoe Mtn, this Cabin is a great Value!

**Keep in mind the owner up charges you $15 per head over 2 people for the cabin and this ended up being more costly than we anticipated due to the double taxation for the area.

Room Tip: The Cabin is updated and the shower and beds a great. We had a couple stay at the B&B for two nights and they mentioned the shower water pressure was very poor. The bed in the Cabin in the bedroom downstairs is a memory foam mattress (VERY COMFORTABLE!) There is a Queen and Two Twins on the upper floor loft.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureGirlieATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the cabin.

Pros:
-Located close to town.

Cons:
-Not secluded at all
-Wasp infestation. We found a nest and killed at least 20 wasps inside. Someone left an empty can of wasp Raid behind.
-Housekeeping
-Nightstands were not cleaned
-The furnished pots and pans still had food on them
-Bedroom did not have a door
-Hot tub was supposed to be fixed, but never was

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlr614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzzyWV, Owner at Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We truly appreciate all constructive criticism as it helps us to continue improving. If our guests are not 100% satisfied, we would appreciate being told directly instead of just a "bad" review. Especially SIX months after their stay!
We do not live at the cabin, if guests would have told us there was a problem with wasps, we certainly would have taken care of the issue. If there was a wasp nest inside, I would have seen it when cleaning, yes I do clean! We do have wasps in WV and on occasion I would see a dead one or two in the cabin and dispose of it.

Until reading this review I didn't check the pots and pans, etc. If they were put away, I assumed they had been washed by guest who had used them, I will most certainly start checking. Also, after this review we have decided to make check in after 4:00pm. During our busy season it is next to impossible to clean the whole B&B and cabin from 11:00am to 2:00pm, this will give us extra time for better cleaning.

The cabin is not secluded in trees but it is not close to any other cabins or the B&B. You can view pictures online.

Our hot tub motor had gone out. The motor was in a repair shop two hours away. We told these guests that we were waiting for it to be repaired and hoping it would be finished while they were there, at the time they said, "no problem, they understood."

Thank you for your review, we wish you would have expressed your issues to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 2 nights here over Labor Day weekend. The hosts are very welcoming and they keep a great house. Oatmeal pancakes one day, french toast the next day, with lots of fruit etc. The other guests were very friendly and the breakfast was great!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Almost Heaven" room on the top floor and it was great, with its own jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Dave and Paula have a good little thing going on in Marlinton. The house is what it is, a charming older home that has been sort of updated or at least modified to be a B & B. The home is cozy and comfortable. The outside of the place is really special. The location is not far from the main road but, it feels completely secluded. There are plenty of quiet places to relax around the inside and outside the house. Many have mentioned the front porch but there was a swing out by the pond and several sets of chairs set up far enough away from the home that you could feel peaceful while being steps away from the house. As I mentioned, they have a nice little farm pond on the property. I chose this as my quiet place and plopped in one of their kayaks. I tossed a line in and ended up pulling out a couple of small bass (bonus).
As many have said, Dave and Paula are great hosts. They were very accommodating and seemed to know everything about the places we were looking to visit. Dave’s cooking is impressive. Oat pancakes doesn't sound good but it sure did taste good.
The location in Marlinton left us in a good spot to see all that Pocahontas County had to offer. We only stayed two nights but, we had time to bike and fish off of the Greenbrier Trail and the Cranberry River, we ate dinner at Snow Shoe and the River Side, Road the Cass Railroad up the mountain, hiked through Bear Town State Park and The Falls of Hills Creek.

Locust Hill has their own pictures of the B & B on their web page...they give you a fairly accurate depiction of the house. I decided to add a couple of pictures of the places we ended up visiting while we stayed there...
All in all we had a great weekend and staying at Locust Hill made it better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We agree with all but one of the reviews; be sure to read them, they are very helpful as you make your decision. The lone cranky review wasn't at all accurate--Paula and Dave are perfect inn keepers of a great inn. Yummy breakfast, lots of amenities. A detail, but i appreciated that there were lots of hooks for our stuff and surfaces not covered with teddy bears or plastic flowers. Lovely, homey atmosphere. Great front porch. Wish we had had enough time for a massage! Memorable, fun getaway.

Room Tip: We recommend the attic room....large, quaint, lovely and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews