We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub
Nearby Hotels
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Roseloe Motel(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Homestead Resort(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$260
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Budget Inn Motel(Covington)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$107
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
73
10
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
10
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubshuttle servicealmost heavenfront porchcass railroadspent two nightsthursday nightpocahontas countyhot tublots of funcrab cakesbike shuttlehope to returntop floorgreat place to stayevery morningdelicious breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 87 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the cabin.

Pros:
-Located close to town.

Cons:
-Not secluded at all
-Wasp infestation. We found a nest and killed at least 20 wasps inside. Someone left an empty can of wasp Raid behind.
-Housekeeping
-Nightstands were not cleaned
-The furnished pots and pans still had food on them
-Bedroom did not have a door
-Hot tub was supposed to be fixed, but never was

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlr614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzzyWV, Owner at Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We truly appreciate all constructive criticism as it helps us to continue improving. If our guests are not 100% satisfied, we would appreciate being told directly instead of just a "bad" review. Especially SIX months after their stay!
We do not live at the cabin, if guests would have told us there was a problem with wasps, we certainly would have taken care of the issue. If there was a wasp nest inside, I would have seen it when cleaning, yes I do clean! We do have wasps in WV and on occasion I would see a dead one or two in the cabin and dispose of it.

Until reading this review I didn't check the pots and pans, etc. If they were put away, I assumed they had been washed by guest who had used them, I will most certainly start checking. Also, after this review we have decided to make check in after 4:00pm. During our busy season it is next to impossible to clean the whole B&B and cabin from 11:00am to 2:00pm, this will give us extra time for better cleaning.

The cabin is not secluded in trees but it is not close to any other cabins or the B&B. You can view pictures online.

Our hot tub motor had gone out. The motor was in a repair shop two hours away. We told these guests that we were waiting for it to be repaired and hoping it would be finished while they were there, at the time they said, "no problem, they understood."

Thank you for your review, we wish you would have expressed your issues to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 2 nights here over Labor Day weekend. The hosts are very welcoming and they keep a great house. Oatmeal pancakes one day, french toast the next day, with lots of fruit etc. The other guests were very friendly and the breakfast was great!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Almost Heaven" room on the top floor and it was great, with its own jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Dave and Paula have a good little thing going on in Marlinton. The house is what it is, a charming older home that has been sort of updated or at least modified to be a B & B. The home is cozy and comfortable. The outside of the place is really special. The location is not far from the main road but, it feels completely secluded. There are plenty of quiet places to relax around the inside and outside the house. Many have mentioned the front porch but there was a swing out by the pond and several sets of chairs set up far enough away from the home that you could feel peaceful while being steps away from the house. As I mentioned, they have a nice little farm pond on the property. I chose this as my quiet place and plopped in one of their kayaks. I tossed a line in and ended up pulling out a couple of small bass (bonus).
As many have said, Dave and Paula are great hosts. They were very accommodating and seemed to know everything about the places we were looking to visit. Dave’s cooking is impressive. Oat pancakes doesn't sound good but it sure did taste good.
The location in Marlinton left us in a good spot to see all that Pocahontas County had to offer. We only stayed two nights but, we had time to bike and fish off of the Greenbrier Trail and the Cranberry River, we ate dinner at Snow Shoe and the River Side, Road the Cass Railroad up the mountain, hiked through Bear Town State Park and The Falls of Hills Creek.

Locust Hill has their own pictures of the B & B on their web page...they give you a fairly accurate depiction of the house. I decided to add a couple of pictures of the places we ended up visiting while we stayed there...
All in all we had a great weekend and staying at Locust Hill made it better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We agree with all but one of the reviews; be sure to read them, they are very helpful as you make your decision. The lone cranky review wasn't at all accurate--Paula and Dave are perfect inn keepers of a great inn. Yummy breakfast, lots of amenities. A detail, but i appreciated that there were lots of hooks for our stuff and surfaces not covered with teddy bears or plastic flowers. Lovely, homey atmosphere. Great front porch. Wish we had had enough time for a massage! Memorable, fun getaway.

Room Tip: We recommend the attic room....large, quaint, lovely and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were passing through and found this B&B online. It was right after a huge storm hit the area, so the B&B lacked power but that didn't matter. It was nice to relax, enjoy the evening and the beautiful scenery. Dave gave us some candles, and it really added to the ambiance of the place. We watched the numerous birds visiting the feeders while curled up on the porch chairs. Some deer passed on by, and their dog Izzie came out to greet us for a bit. We stayed in the Stardust room, and it was great for weary travelers. Breakfast was delicious- cheesy eggs, sausage, oatmeal pancakes and fresh juice. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: While we didn't stay in the Almost Heaven (attic suite), we did check it out. It was gorgeous and had a huge Jacuzzi tub. I might have to book it next time!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews