We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerico Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jerico Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Jerico Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
California, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We went to stay in the 2 person cabin - Patton - and had a very good experience. I will recommend this place for its location and the way cabins are built and decorated. Their website is a very good source of information and is NOT misleading at all. Prompt emails and calls; good directions and excellent service left a good mark of this place.

In all this was a very good choice and I recommend this BnB; specially for couples!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Cove, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We arrived at the cabin surrounded by 3 1/2 ft. of beautiful snow and breath taking views. Surprising to my husband I had no difficulty climbing the long driveway in my "little sportscar". The cabin was quite clean, more that enough room, warm and comfortable....& very quiet. We were joined by my son, his wife, 3 grandchildren (7,4, 6 mos) & were amazed at how well we all fit & had our own space. The renovations are done well, both inside and outside. I only ask that the electrical appliances ( i.e. coffee maker, grill, etc.) be ckecked often & replaced when needed. The whole area around Marlinton is one of the most beautiful I have seen and the most friendly people.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiDeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I already knew from the website that I would have 16 Union soldiers buried in the back of my cabin, "The Yank". But the experience was a little surreal. Perhaps it was the full moon and the heavy mist we had during our stay, but the contribution of all these things to the atmosphere here is undeniable. The cabin itself was definately "modern rustic"-full plumbing, a small TV,gas log fireplace (controls were a little touchy), and of course the hot tub out back. If you enjoy a good herd of cows out the back door in the morning, they come with the place too! Part of the greeting committee is a charming calico kitty that has rarely missed a meal.
Furniture and things like pans, glassware (quite an eclectic collection)and appliances were generally in good condition though far from new. I must say the place was very clean however, especially the bathroom and shower where one can usually expect problems, but not here.
This particular cabin is the furthest from the main house on the primary property, but still closer than I expected. Parking space is very good and not at all treacherous. We peeked into the other cabins nearby and were amused by the heart shaped jacuzzis.
We spent two nights. The day we arrived there was a very large tree down in the back yard that looked like it had fallen half a century ago. When we returned the next day after sight seeing the tree had moved up the hill into the pasture! We thought the resident soldier ghosts had been at work, but we were assured by the owners that it had actually been a man with a chain saw and the tree had only been down since earlier in the summer. I think I'll just think what I want to think.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evansthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

For eight years now, a group of friends and I have arranged a get-together in Marlinton, and we stay at the Lewis cabin - sleeps 6, hot tub, full kitchen, laundry. The rest stay at the B&B. Area is beautiful, cabin and B&B is very nice and fairly priced. We've never had a problem. And we're going back next week.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nchristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We recently stayed in the Jerico Pre Civil War Cabins. My husband originally booked the Milroy Cabin however they had overbooked and had to call us back to move us to the Bushwhacker Cabin. He agreed however they failed to state it was not located with the other cabins (approx 20 min north) and it was a "pet friendly cabin" which was not noted on the web. We arrive and the cabin was interesting & clean with the exception of the serious flea infestation. We were eaten alive - it was awful. You would see them crawling on your ankles and socks. We mentioned it and were told it was a pet cabin and they usually bomb a couple of times a year but it had not been done in awhile. No apology however they mentioned when we returned they would give us a discount on a future stay. We were not looking for a discount but maybe an offer to move into another cabin or the B & B. It is unfortunate - We loved the area and would have liked to return. On the way home we stopped at a laundremat to wash all clothes and spray the car as to not bring them home. Ugh!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travellinhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpha Centauri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

I've always loved a real log cabin and The Bushwacker is perfect. It is a genuine Civil War era log cabin with a tin roof and stone chimney that has been re-constructed and sympathetically added onto creating a cozy blend of historically rustic log and chinking exterior with a casually comfortable interior. It sits at a separate, very private location from the other cabins and B&B at the base of a mountain and on the edge of National Park land; excellent hiking trails in the woods right out the door! The living room has comfortable furniture, a soaring loft open to the roof/ceiling, is dominated by a massive rustic chandelier and a huge stone fireplace (gas w/ remote) and cable TV, books, games, maps, area info, etc... The downstairs bedroom has a queen sized bed, on the firmer side, a large bathroom w/washer+dryer, plenty of extra towels, then a wide hallway to the enclosed, covered back porch and the hot tub, a gas grill, and some table & chairs. The bright kitchen is lined with sunny windows, has a separate eat-in area that seats 6 adults easily and has everything, including a dishwasher, but the groceries! The spiral staircase in the living room leads to a dormitory sleeping loft with 3 large beds. The views extending from the covered front porch across a meadow to the mountains beyond is a perfect place to watch the deer or build a campfire in the stone ring. There was another cabin under construction nearby The Bushwacker but it seemed far enough away not to impinge on privacy or views. We have rented The Bushwacker 2 times and always found it very clean, with comfortable AC and baseboard heating, and the staff friendly, especially Lindy. We look forward to spending more time relaxing at The Bushwacker again soon, especially with easy access any season from a long flat driveway and Snowshoe nearby! The 2 hour drive between I-81 and Marlinton must be stunning in Autumn!! Amazing views!! See their website at www.jericobb.com and FFI or to see photos PM me at my TA mailbox. Enjoy! --Sandy

  • Liked — Authentic, rustic yet comfortable, fireplace, hot tub, cable, privacy, remoteness
  • Disliked — The same route offering amazing cliftop views between I-81 and Marlinton can cause car-sickness!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyHibiscus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We were advised NOT to go to West Virginia by our new friends from our son's wedding in Ohio. They said it was somewhere to go THROUGH not TO! We absolutely loved it. Fantastic scenery. we found some cabins at Marlinton...Jerico, just on the 219 into the town. Hot tub, comfortable bed,all of the equipment you need (note.NEED, not necessarily desire..but we improvised!) Lovely staff. Just try it!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank welshandproudWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
0.0 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
3.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
12.6 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 4,159 reviews
13.0 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerico Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerico Bed & Breakfast

Property: Jerico Bed & Breakfast
Address: Jerico Road 19, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 22 miles from Snowshoe Ski Resort and 1 mile from the Greenbrier River Trail. Accommodations include the Main house with 6 rooms, plus 9 Pre-Civil War log cabins. Rates vary on season, length of stay, number of people, and accommodations. Our mountains and rivers always greet you with adventure for any season. Whatever your budget or desires, Jerico Bed & Breakfast has the perfect room or private cabin to make your stay special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jerico Hotel Marlinton
Jerico Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing