We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and cool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn three days before the Columbus holiday weekend and it was fantastic! I travel a lot for my job and usually stay in the standard chains, I'm falling back in love with motor inns for my personal time in the outdoors. The Marlinton Motor Inn is great for a step back to comfortable times. How great is it to walk twenty feet from the room to your car? Excellent. The rooms are large and comfortable and super clean. Maybe not pillow top matteresses and huge screen TV, but I'm not in beautiful Pocahontas County to lie in bed and turn my brains into bran flakes with daytime and reality TV. In an area like this one should be outside soaking up the beauty and resources that are everywhere. A room is to sleep and shower and this place perfectly fits the bill.

The restaurant serves great standard fare with some great special items. Good menu choices and breakfast is what it shoulf be in the mountain outdoors. Check out the roast beef for dinner, salads are all very fresh, and breakfast is robust and tasty.

All of the staff are friendly and helpful, but I would like to give special kudos to Leslie who is a restaurant waitress. She is way beyond good. She waited on us for four out of the five meals we had and she is above and beyond the standard service you might expect. She served two large tables and four booths on Saturday morning all by herself and didn't miss a beat. I'm sure she isn't paid enough, so make sure to tip well! Note to management, be sure to give this young lady some time of to rest when you can, you can't afford to burn her out and lose her.

Did I mention this place is very clean? We will stay here again every time we travel to the area, it feels like home. I just hope Pocahontas County continues to protect and display the beautiful natural resources they have been so blessed with and don't fall into the old trap of short term resource extraction in the name of fast money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the single level are great. Haven't stayed in the two-story section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
14
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The place is from the 50's but updated with a full service nice restaurant with decent/good food. The price was right and was the only place we could find that accepted a one night reservation in advance-others in area require 2 night stay to reserve in advance. We were in the area to bike ride and it was clean, quite and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weav131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed recently while on motorcycles. It is a very good value but it could use a little remodeling. The rooms are large and pretty clean but dated. The restaurant and lounge were unexpected. The lounge seems to have a regular, friendly crowd but the restaurant seems to struggle. There isn't much in Marlinton so this place should be busy. The breakfast was ok but it seemed like an upgrade at chef (no insult intended) could help get this place to the next level. So it is worth a stop and is a good value. It sits along a ni ce motorcycling highway. Give it a shot and see if you don't find it a worthwhile stop. No it isn't fancy but it is friendly and nostalgic.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kickstander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. The rooms are large and clean. Plenty of hot water for baths or showers. Nothing fancy, but we were there to clean up and sleep, so it served our needs quite well, and the price was reasonable. We had breakfast and supper at the restaurant. Breakfast was very good, supper was average, but a bit pricy. We will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurtland, Ky
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent the weekend in Marlinton to fish and see some sights. Stayed at the Marlinton Motor Inn while in the area. Hotel is dated but met our needs. Check-in and out went smoothly and the double room was adequate for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieWurtland_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently stayed at the Marlinton Inn on a motorcycle trip. The hotel is a little dated but there are few choices in Marlinton area.. For the price the hotel is good. Rooms are clean, and the service is ok. A very quiet place to stay, outside town.
We ate in the restaurant and the menu is limited. Breakfast is pricey for what you get. The hotel is about 1-2 miles from the town, so your only choice is to eat in the hotel. There are very few restaurants in the town. If you are looking for fine dining, Marlinton is not the place.
There is a bar in the hotel, drink prices are very reasonable.
Free Wifi, but you have to be at the hotel front desk, or restaurant to connect. Not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cotss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Myself and 3 other friends just finished another stay at the Marlinton Motor Inn and we all thought the room was a bargain and the stay was more than fine.

The rooms are always very clean and the people are friendly with a dash of extra personality for entertainment. The front office people never fail to be friendly and helpful.

The restaurant food is also fine. This isn't the Waldorf but the food was tasty and convenient to our rooms. After a long day of terrific motorcycle riding in the mountains, it is nice to be able to walk a few yards for a decent meal, relax and tell lies about our riding proficiencies. We were made to feel very welcome at every meal in the restaurant and the bar.

After several stays here, we have yet to have a bad stay....(although we were disappointed that we did not see any ghosts ;-) )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank khelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
0.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlinton Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Property: Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Address: Elk Route, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marlinton Motor Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, restaurant, lounge, and Fenton Art Glass gift shop. 72 extra large rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable. non-smoking & smoking rooms available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marlinton Motor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlinton Motor Hotel Marlinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing