We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marlinton Motor Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Boones Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Marlinton Motor Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. The rooms are large and clean. Plenty of hot water for baths or showers. Nothing fancy, but we were there to clean up and sleep, so it served our needs quite well, and the price was reasonable. We had breakfast and supper at the restaurant. Breakfast was very good, supper was average, but a bit pricy. We will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
14
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wurtland, Ky
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent the weekend in Marlinton to fish and see some sights. Stayed at the Marlinton Motor Inn while in the area. Hotel is dated but met our needs. Check-in and out went smoothly and the double room was adequate for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieWurtland_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently stayed at the Marlinton Inn on a motorcycle trip. The hotel is a little dated but there are few choices in Marlinton area.. For the price the hotel is good. Rooms are clean, and the service is ok. A very quiet place to stay, outside town.
We ate in the restaurant and the menu is limited. Breakfast is pricey for what you get. The hotel is about 1-2 miles from the town, so your only choice is to eat in the hotel. There are very few restaurants in the town. If you are looking for fine dining, Marlinton is not the place.
There is a bar in the hotel, drink prices are very reasonable.
Free Wifi, but you have to be at the hotel front desk, or restaurant to connect. Not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cotss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Myself and 3 other friends just finished another stay at the Marlinton Motor Inn and we all thought the room was a bargain and the stay was more than fine.

The rooms are always very clean and the people are friendly with a dash of extra personality for entertainment. The front office people never fail to be friendly and helpful.

The restaurant food is also fine. This isn't the Waldorf but the food was tasty and convenient to our rooms. After a long day of terrific motorcycle riding in the mountains, it is nice to be able to walk a few yards for a decent meal, relax and tell lies about our riding proficiencies. We were made to feel very welcome at every meal in the restaurant and the bar.

After several stays here, we have yet to have a bad stay....(although we were disappointed that we did not see any ghosts ;-) )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank khelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was my first time back to this motel since I was a teenager headed up to Snowshoe with my father. I'm 47 and nothing has changed. The reason we stayed then and the reason I stayed with my family this time is because it's relatively close to Snowshoe, and cheap. For those who make a long drive to the remote resort, it is conveniently located so that the next morning one can hit the slopes at 9:00am without much additional driving.

Here's what we found. The motel was approximately 60% occupied yet, with these numbers, they have 20 year old televisions, with non-working remotes. There is no internet, anywhere on the premises. The toilet was not what I would consider sanitized. Beds were reasonably comfortable, but when I inquired about having three travelers and needing two queens or one king and a roll-out - I was told that there was no such option, double beds were standard or I could have one king with no room for a rollout. Baloney! There's plenty of room for a roll-out. So the wife and I had to snuggle up in a bouncy spring double bed. Not good. On top of this we paid extra for a third person. We found this odd. Motels used to do this thirty years ago.

Now on to the restaurant. We tried breakfast, expecting something quick and hot. We got hot but not quick. It's a shame that there was no buffet and there was no mention of the restaurant in the room. If we weren't told about breakfast at check-in, we wouldn't know it was available. With 60 percent occupancy and 90 percent of those people headed up to Snowshoe early in the morning with no restaurants to speak of between the hotel and the resort (20 miles), I'm sure they could have marketed this a bit better. We ordered a sit down breakfast from the menu and it took too long. But the food was good and the coffee very good. We had to wait for our ticket and this annoyed me greatly because we were risking missing slope time as the minutes ticked away.

They should recognize their niche, the Snowshoe traveler, and invest a little bit into catering to these folks. Internet service is expected nowadays as are TV's that work. With the occupancy they presumably have the money to invest in the property, which is severely deficient. Next trip I am staying at the bottom of Snowshoe in a motel that better fits this niche, and doesn't feel like a seedy trip back in time.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was decent. It is outdated looking but everything worked and everything was clean.
The free wi-fi is only in a little room behind the office, but they are more than happy for you to use it.
We used this hotel as a base for skiing at Snowshoe and it was a much cheaper alternative to staying on the mountain.

We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnitaLCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans WV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a cheap last minute booking for one night after skiing at Snowshoe which is about 20 miles away. For the most part, the room and furnishings are just old or old looking. Outdated, worn out bathroom as well. I'm sure they clean the rooms daily but because of age it looks dingy. Never saw any bugs or anything of that nature. Staff is friendly. Restaurant and lounge on-site. Although it was closed and not filled, the swimming pool looks new. Basically, if you want cheap accommodations that are close to Snowshoe Mountain and you're not at all picky, this place will do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toni_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
0.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlinton Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Property: Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Address: Elk Route, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marlinton Motor Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, restaurant, lounge, and Fenton Art Glass gift shop. 72 extra large rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable. non-smoking & smoking rooms available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Marlinton Motor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlinton Motor Hotel Marlinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing