We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent place, nice people” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent place, nice people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was decent. It is outdated looking but everything worked and everything was clean.
The free wi-fi is only in a little room behind the office, but they are more than happy for you to use it.
We used this hotel as a base for skiing at Snowshoe and it was a much cheaper alternative to staying on the mountain.

We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnitaLCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
14
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans WV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a cheap last minute booking for one night after skiing at Snowshoe which is about 20 miles away. For the most part, the room and furnishings are just old or old looking. Outdated, worn out bathroom as well. I'm sure they clean the rooms daily but because of age it looks dingy. Never saw any bugs or anything of that nature. Staff is friendly. Restaurant and lounge on-site. Although it was closed and not filled, the swimming pool looks new. Basically, if you want cheap accommodations that are close to Snowshoe Mountain and you're not at all picky, this place will do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toni_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just stayed here for two nights because the cabin we rented at Watoga state park had snakes in it. Yes as soon as we got our cabin we killed 2 poisonous snakes coming out of the fireplace so we got the hell out. They recommended the marlinton Motor Inn, so we went. Check in went smooth and fast. The rooms were surprisingly clean and smelled fresh. People complain about dim lighting but I didn't find that to be a problem with about 5 different lighting options in the room. The walls are made of wood (cabin feel) so maybe thats why they complain about the lighting I don't know but not a problem for us, was lit very well. Bathroom was clean and updated. Our kids swam in the very large and fun shaped swimming pool. The staff was courteous with information about local places etc. The parking lot and grounds were exceptionally clean, not a cigarette butt on the ground anywhere. The restaurant and lounge was clean and comfortable but the food was average at best. Nothing homemade here and they must buy the bottom of the totem pole food from their distributor. Dinner was $100 for 4 adults and 2 toddlers. We tried breakfast it was a little better (hard to screw up omelets) although pricey for $8 omelets. I suggest eating on down the road unless your used to tv dinner fare. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back 300 section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were on a motorcycle trip and hit some nasty weather including hail. No fun. We arrived at the Marlinton and they couldn't have been nicer. Since almost all the clothes we had in our bags were soaked they let us use their clothes dryer while we ate dinner. Dinner was good and waitress was very friendly. Room was clean as was bathroom/shower. They even let us park our bikes under the cover of the porch outside our room to get them out of the storms that came through over night. Pool looked nice and clean even though we didn't get to use it. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: We had the last room on the left side. 110 I think it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

The staff was friendly, the rooms were spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The one bad thing that I found was no wi-fi. Was still surprised at the overall experience

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We were going to take the VP of operations for me of our largest accounts on a motorcycle ride in the Marlinton area on the weekend of May 8th. After reading a few of the reviews I became a little concerned but went ahead and booked MMI anyway.

Everything went very well. We arrived after midnight our first night and were treated well at checkin. The rooms were very clean and in order. Beds slept fine. There were two bulbs out ;-) but 8 other working bulbs in the room so we had plenty of light.

The next morning we had an xlnt country breakfast in the restaurant with the waitress being very friendly andhelpful, we enjoyed "cutting up"with her...both days.

One of our group had a minor emergency on our last day and we ended up checking our at about 7 Pm rather than staying. At checkout the eek employee offered to give us a partial credit for the night. We did not ask for this but gratefully accepted. This was a very nice gesture on their part and one I rarely have received elsewhere.

Our experience at the MMI was very good and a heckuva bargain. Everyone was very pleasant snd helpful an our rooms were quite clean.I have booked a second stay in two weeks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend and to say we felt uneasy is an understatement! First, our room did not have any clocks in it and as soon as we made it inside, it felt a little "off" if that makes sense. Second, as we went outside to smoke, we kept seeing this strange bright light in the distance.... not necessarily anything to do with the motel, but it didn't help with the nervous feeling we both had. Then, I woke up in the middle of the night and thought I saw something like a black mass standing in the corner but shrugged it off because I was sleepy. The next morning as we were leaving, my boyfriend proceeds to tell me (without knowing what I saw) that he woke up a couple of times to what felt like someone breathing down his neck! He also said he saw a black mass but didn't wake me up because he didn't want to scare me. FREAKY!

In the morning, we packed and got out of there pretty quickly. I love visiting the town of Marlinton but this was the first time we've ever stayed overnight. If we stay again, I can assure you it will NOT be at the Marlinton Motor Inn!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarapricex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlinton Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Property: Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Address: Elk Route, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marlinton Motor Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, restaurant, lounge, and Fenton Art Glass gift shop. 72 extra large rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable. non-smoking & smoking rooms available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marlinton Motor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlinton Motor Hotel Marlinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing