We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Probably Won't Do Better in the Area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Chesterfield, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably Won't Do Better in the Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

The MMI had most of the amenities of a $60 a night motel at about double the price. We stayed here late December 2007 on a ski trip.

My complaints: 1) they have an unusual service fee policy and seemed somewhat inflexible about reservation changes 2) No high speed internet service. 3)long distance phone calls from room a bit pricey - typical of any hotel. I spent around $28 on perhaps that many minutes of calls. (Your cell phone will not work in this valley. I heard there is a blackout because of the nearby radio telescope observatory.) 4)the heater unit did not have a thermostat - I had to get up in the middle of the night several times to turn it on and off. 5)there was a small amount of late night and early-morning noise but nothing unusual or unexpected for a motor inn. When we got there, however, there was another guest who was trying to get a different room because of a noisy neighbor. They told her they could switch her room, but then they would charge her for both rooms!! 6) restaurant smelled musty to us. 7)one lamp not functional (probably needed a new bulb.) 8)had to open the back of the toilet once to adjust the flap to get the tank to fill.

Compliments: 1)small refrigerator/freezer in room was a nice touch. 2) maid did a nice job making up the room and nothing was missing. She did not take the tip I left on the first night because I did not leave it in the special designated tip envelope. I attributed that to integrity. 3) breakfast at the restaurant was decent. 4) although the room doors opened to the parking lot (not through a lobby) we felt generally safe.

We stayed here when we couldn't find a place up on Snowshoe Mountain. If we go back to Snowshoe, I will probably try someplace else, although I expect I couldn't do much better. Another skier told me they were staying elsewhere in Marlinton and that although that other place was a bit of a dump, at least they had internet service there.

We did not eat dinner there at the MMI restaurant. Instead we ate down the road in Marlinton (The MMI is not actually in Marlinton, it is in Edray, WV) at The River Place. (Put that restaurant in a big city and it would not be up to par, but in this setting it was quite enjoyable

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of good control of room temperature + lack of internet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank filterguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Stayed here in October 2007 with a large group of motorcycle riders. The rooms are very large, clean. The inn was under new management, so some minor inconveniences were there. The resteraunt was slooowww, but it was the 1st and 2nd day of being opened with an entire new staff, so no big deal. What I had do eat was great though. A few complained about the meals they got. Check in was even slower, not sure of the excuse there. As for location, this place is the best. If your out to take in the mountain scenery, or do some motorcycle sport touring, this is the place to start and end your days. The cost was very reasonable. Overall a great place, and will get better as the staff gets trained.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Check in
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thunderpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORFOLK, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

The rooms are poorly lit but very clean. Staff is courteous. The problem with this motel is the walls are paper thin. The noise level from other rooms is unbearable. You can actually hear other peoples conversation. We stayed on the bottom level and the noise from above was also a problem. Again rooms are nice and they are pet friendly. Noise levels need to be controlled. Maybe some extra insulation.

  • Liked — Close to Ski Resort
  • Disliked — The Noise Level
  • Tips/Secrets — If You Go To Bed Early Do Not Stay Here. Noise Level To After 12-1 AM
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BEACHLOVERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
0.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlinton Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Property: Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Address: Elk Route, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marlinton Motor Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, restaurant, lounge, and Fenton Art Glass gift shop. 72 extra large rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable. non-smoking & smoking rooms available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marlinton Motor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlinton Motor Hotel Marlinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing