We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay once again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Lost River
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Beautiful stay once again”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Friendly staff, wonderful owners, great company and a cozy room! The views never cease to amaze us and we it has become our staple get-away from DC. The lodge is welcoming with much to offer (games, TV, wifi, bar, restaurant, pool)!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
158
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a marvelous time at this beautiful chill B&B in WVA. The warm accommodations and beautiful views of the surrounding areas were hard to beat. We also had the whole place to ourselves playing scrabble and then pool in the BIG house. The proprietors were very warm and welcoming. We will go back again and strongly recommend that you go too!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FallsChurch_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay. We love when guests make themselves feel at home here! You get to experience a little of this magical place we get to call home, and that brings us such satisfaction.

We often say it's like staying at a friend's home in the country, and that is what all our guests are to us.

Until next visit,

Gary and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here two years ago and were thrilled to return for a quiet, relaxing long weekend. The website's description of "rustic yet refined" is spot-on. In short, the property is well-maintained, the surrounding area is beautiful, and the staff clearly love what they are doing.

A few highlights that make The Guesthouse so special...First and foremost, Gary and Jesse are fantastic. They are friendly, sincere, and fun to chat with - can't beat that!

If you're hungry or thirsty when the restaurant isn't open and you're too lazy to head back to your room, don't fret - you can enjoy the "honor bar" on the second level of the Main Lodge. Grab a snack or a glass of wine (on your honor!), jot down your name/room number, and you'll be charged at the end of your stay.

Finally, there are so many ways to relax and unwind. Grab a book and cozy up next to one of the many, many fireplaces in the Main Lodge. Challenge someone to Scrabble or a game of pool. Workout in the on-site gym or head outside for a hike on one of the many nearby trails. Strike up a conversation with someone you meet at the communal 9am breakfast. Take a nap (or three). I did all of the above and more and can't wait to return...now make your plans to go - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Elizabeth,

Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience at the Guesthouse. It was a pleasure to have you and your husband visit us again!

And thank you for your feedback on the Honor Bar. It is a new offering that we are trying, and so far is working well, especially on long weekends when the bar isn't open.

We can't wait to have you stay with us again, I am already thinking of the warm summer days by the pool!

Gary and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I just moved to DC and it's been driving me crazy.. I am a nature lover and DC inhibits that quite a bit. I came to Guesthouse Lost River with my boyfriend and it was absolutely what we both needed. It is nestled in the beautiful mountains and operated by the most friendly people I've come across in a while. The food was delicious and the views were even better. Our room overlooked the mountains and we had a gorgeous view of every sunrise. I was in heaven. They had so many different rooms loaded with comfortable leather couches which made lounging in front of a fire with a good book absolutely perfect. The surrounding area is secluded but filled with trails and streams. We met several other amazing couples from DC and witnessed two engagements while we were there. This place is a perfect escape from the city!

Room Tip: Carriage house 2 had wonderful rooms with the best views of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for 1 night, but will definitely be back for more.
The guesthouse is tucked away and offers a real serene atmosphere and fantastic service.
We arrived at night (a bit tricky to find, try arriving before dark if you can), and were greeted by super friendly Gary, he gave us the tour and some general info about the lodge and the region. The place is beautiful with a lot of quiet places by a fireplace to chill.
Room was spacious and comfy.
Dinner was delicious, and breakfast was yummy too.
Overall this place is very easy to recommend, it's tranquil, beautiful and just a great place to come for a relaxing stay.
A&D.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArielandDanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Ariel,

We were so happy that you found us and we were able to make your trip memorable! Thank you for your kind words and we hope you both visit us again.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests!

Gary and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Guesthouse Lost River for a quick weekend getaway after finding a great Living Social deal! We were excited for our upcoming stay due to all the great reviews that we read via Trip Advisor.

Gary and Jesse were two outstanding hosts! They were very pleasant and went the extra mile to ensure that we had a great stay.

The morning family style breakfasts served on Saturday & Sunday were delicious! Homemade biscuits, pancakes, sausage, delicious coffee and outstanding service!

My husband and I enjoyed lounging around in the various media rooms and playing pool. I absolutely adored the fireplaces.

We had dinner in the restaurant both nights and had great meals, dessert and drinks!

A few tips:

-Print out the driving directions because cell service is limited as you get closer to the resort
-Try to arrive during the daylight hours

The Guesthouse was definitely charming and we were pleasantly surprised by all that it offered. We look forward to returning in the spring and summer seasons!

Room Tip: Guesthouse #1 had excellent views of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Erica,

We were so happy to have you both visit us at the Guesthouse! Thank you for your kind words, we strive to make a comfortable and welcoming place for all who need to relax and recharge.

We look forward to having you visit us again!

Thanks,

Gary and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

After surviving the hectic holidays, I really wanted to book a mini vacation to unwind with my boyfriend and two of our closest friends. I found a fantastic deal on Livingsocial at what looked like a really quaint and charming lodge in the mountains of West Virginia. It was more than I expected, with several roaring fires throughout the property and stunning views of the surrounding landscape from atop the hill the lodge sits on.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Jesse (one of the owners) who started our tour. Gary (the other owner) finished the tour. Both were extremely hospitable and warm; they definitely made us feel right at home and were happy to tell us how they got the whole operation started. It's not often the owners are so invested in their guest's entire experience from start to finish. They obviously love what they do, and that translates into the dishes they serve at dinner, to the family style breakfast they serve in the morning, and even to the decor throughout the lodge.

We felt right at home and there was never a dull moment. There are board games everywhere, a pool table, a hot tub, a cozy bar with delicious cocktails... it was easy to just settle in and forget the city. We will DEFINITELY be returning in the spring or summer so we can enjoy Guesthouse during its peak season. Thanks, Gary and Jesse, for a memorable experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Bud Cabin. The top and middle rooms share a common area (kitchen and living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaraColeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lost River
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
23.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
2.2 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
19.1 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#2 of 2 in Petersburg
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Property: Guesthouse Lost River
Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810-8392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Guesthouse Lost River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing