We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to relax and get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Lost River
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great way to relax and get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just got back from a relaxing Labor Day weekend. Do yourself a favor and do a little bit of research on the room that you want. Knowing the room that you want and where it is/what it has will go a long way.

I won't repeat what other reviews have said repeatedly. It is a great retreat and not too pricey. Enjoy.....

Room Tip: When the pool sign says that you aren't suppose to have personal liquor outside of your room, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
156
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a lovely, relaxing weekend at The Guesthouse Lost River July 5-7. Gary and his partner Jesse were wonderful hosts, answering all of our questions and tending to all of our needs. The room was clean and comfortable, with a fabulous view of the West Virginia mountains. The pool was a refreshing and relaxing way to spend the afternoon, and the poolside bar with the marvelous bartender DJ was a pleasant addition. Fellow guests were very friendly and provided interesting conversation. The food was delicious, and particularly enjoyable were the wonderful breakfasts served family style promptly at 9 a.m. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my second trip to the Guesthouse, the first being nearly a year ago. The guys have really got the service down now... it was perfect... and the entire property looked fresh, cozy and inviting. The food coming out of the restaurant is excellent, and they have added a nice lunch menu so guest can stay by the pool uninterrupted.

I certainly intend to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Thanks Gary and Michael for being amazing hosts. The property is beautiful, food was great and the rooms were very cozy. Even though the weather didn't cooperate, my husband and I had a great time. A great quiet escape.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolfesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a four-day stay at the Guest House at Lost River, and cannot begin to thank Michael and Gary enough for the wonderful visit. The serene setting, comfortable accommodations, expansive amenities, and accessibility allowed for a quiet and low-key celebration for us. At the self-contained "resort" we enjoyed the pool, beautiful lounge and exceptional dining during our stay. The staff was helpful but not intrusive and met every requested need. Highly recommend the Guesthouse at Lost River for anyone wishing to escape, reflect AND celebrate. Thanks, Guesthouse!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found the Guest House through LivingSocial and it did not disappoint. Michael and Gary have established a wonderful escape close to the DC/Baltimore area. We booked this trip for a Valentine's weekend, looking for a romantic escape combined with a little skiing (Canaan Valley). The room was lovely. The breakfast was hearty (perfect for skiing). And dinner was delicious. We have booked to return in July so that we can explore more of the quiet country side. This really is a gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Guesthouse for a weekend and were in awe the entire time—of the views, the incredible space (the main lodge, guesthouse, cabins, everything!), and the incredibly warm and inviting reception received upon our arrival from Gary and Jesse. Definitely make time to eat whenever you can at the Guesthouse—lunch on the patio, drinks by the pool, happy hour, dinner, and of course, breakfast. Our dinner was phenomenal (we had the special shrimp and sausage with penne and sundried tomato cream sauce and the flank steak which was beyond words delicious), and we had to have dessert—the famous cheesecake and hot fudge sundae brownie! YUM! Tucked in the WV hills, the Guesthouse should be added to your must-see places! (I was there on assignment for WV LIVING Magazine...be sure to check us out and read about the Guesthouse in the Fall 2013 issue!)

Room Tip: Rooms in the Guesthouse overlooking the pool had amazing views and beautiful breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lost River
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
2.2 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Chalet High Resort
Chalet High Resort
#1 of 1 in Basye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Property: Guesthouse Lost River
Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810-8392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Guesthouse Lost River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing