We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of peace!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Lost River
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We only stayed one midweek night (before the two night min in place) but were sad to leave. Upper floor guesthouse rooms have a fabulous view. The floor plan of this place is an experience itself. The furnishings are so well suited too, very simple and understated. Not too cluttered and with good design sense. We travel a lot and this was THE most comfortable bed and the LINENS! so so so soft - I wanted to take them home! We don't stay at b&b's for the breakfast (does anyone?) so we were happy with just a simple start to our day with tasty, fresh ingredients. Wish we could have stayed on the weekend to enjoy the dinner menu as well. Make sure you enjoy all there is to offer from this mountain retreat area (Lost River) with hiking, horseback riding and even yoga so close to the DC area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Somuchmore2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Somuchmore,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Your description of the grounds and buildings are so well conveyed, we appreciate your thoughtfulness. We think it is an amazing place as well. Midweek stays are a different experience here at the Guesthouse where relaxation is the main goal, not just an afterthought. It seems that many guests just start to get relaxed before the end of their stay, which is why we have the two night minimum during the week now. But any time spent here is always worth the trip!

We definitely look forward to your return and hope to see you again very soon!

Thank you!

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Lost River
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 243 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

We loved our stay. Gary and Jesse were perfect hosts. The property was lovely. Food is delicious.
A peaceful and beautiful setting. We look forward to returning. Very nice horseback riding and hiking nearby.

Room Tip: Ask the hosts.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethemountains2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Lovethemountains,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your kind words with our future guests. We can't wait to have you visit us again!

Thanks,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent four days at the Guest House, the owners went out of their way to see that we enjoyed ourselves. The accomadations were impeccable, we slept like logs. Would we stay there damn straight. The food was fantastic and the service was unbeliveable.

Room Tip: Get a suite, they are roomy and decorated very nicely.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

David,

Thank you so much for your kind words. The Suites are all unique and show the best of what we have to offer our guests. Glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return.

Thanks,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We enjoyed the Guesthouse's delicious meals and the attentive staff. The place is grand and cozy at the same time. Gary was very accommodating when it came to sorting out our Livingsocial expiration dates. Thank you for the great experience, the relaxing atmosphere and your hospitality!

Room Tip: If you truly need to relax, don't worry about TV in the rooms, I was able to get cell service in...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Faith,

We are so happy you were able to experience the wonderful area of Lost River with us! LivingSocial has been a wonderful business partner for us and we truly appreciate all of the wonderful guests that partnership has brought to us, including yourself.

We look forward to your next visit!

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a great experience, A beautiful view and will come back again. I cannot even begin to mention how delicious the food is. Look forward to next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Aaron,

We are so happy that you and your group enjoyed your experience here at the Guesthouse. We look forward to your return. The Guesthouse has been a welcome respite for all since opening 30 years ago, we pride ourselves on the diverse nature of our guests.

Thanks,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I wanted to get away from the city without driving too long. I wanted it to be romantic, close to nature and secluded. I got all of that and way more. I was trying to book a cheap room but was stuck with either a pet friendly room in a cabin that had shared common areas. The only other option was the suite for $75 more a night. Even thru it was more than what I wanted to spent I did it anyways. Boy was this worth it, all the extras of this room made it immediately worth it. Double sided fire place, full kitchen, satellite tv, two bathrooms, king size bed, private balcony, parking right off the side kitchen entrance, the best view of the place and the best part it, it was at the end of the last floor of the main lodge. No one on top or next to us. We had such a romantic weekend!!! We are planning on making this an every 6 month tradition and we will make sure to book the suite again. So peaceful, romantic, relaxing and the staff was great!!!! :-)

Room Tip: Get the Suite its so worth the extra money. The double sided fireplace its amazing. The only room...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! :) The Suite is certainly our grande dame of the property with spectacular views! Even we don't have some of these amenities in our living quarters on the property! :) We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Guesthouse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic three night stay at the Guest House over Memorial Day weekend. Gary and Mike love what they do and it shows in their attention detail. As the new proprietors they are working hard to leave their mark by upgrading the amenities and service, working their punch list. The onsite restaurant was greatly enjoyed when open. All the other guests were fantastic, conversational and engaging, enjoyed everyone there. We stayed in the Builtmore cottage which is separated by a 3 to 5-minute walk and secluded from the other areas of the Guesthouse. It afforded us some much needed privacy with only two other rooms in the cottage. Much of the time the other occupants including our friends whom we traveled with were elsewhere. No cell service but good Wi-Fi so you don’t completely disengage unless you choose too. We will be returning and are already making plans.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKM127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback! We do read every review and constantly work to improve our guests experience! We have been coming to Lost River for years to escape the madness of DC! We are thrilled that you are coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lost River
13.2 mi away
South Branch Inn Moorefield
South Branch Inn Moorefield
#1 of 2 in Moorefield
68 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
23.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
279 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
233 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810-8392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range: $165 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Guesthouse Lost River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing