We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word--FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Lost River
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Guesthouse was relaxing and everything you see in the pictures. What makes this place fabulous and way above par is the service. I've stayed in a number of B&Bs and the service of the entire team was absolutely amazing. From breakfast to the poolside snacks, to sun down at the bar--the owners and staff were approachable and always checking in to see how things were going. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spencito6259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thanks for the great words! :) I have to admit while I love the fall in Lost River, the summer is always great. I love hearing the music by the pool and watching the busy wait staff and bartender making sure everyone is taken care of! And I am the first to admit that Sunday afternoon, once all the guests check out-- you can find us poolside with a drink close by! Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 250 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

This past weekend we visited the guest house for the first time. When we arrived, our host gave us a welcome tour of the grounds and amenities. The grounds were spectacularly beautiful; rooms and common areas well maintained and cleaned. Having dinner on the patio was peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast over the two day stay was served family-style which enabled us to meet other guests. It was a hearty serving of eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, hash browns and biscuits. There were no TVs in the rooms, but that was actually part of the charm to be forced to do without TV for a weekend and enjoy the nature and the company of other guests. The bartender was very friendly and mixed several experimental drinks for us. In the surrounding area is a state park that offers hiking, a small cafe on route 259 with delicious sandwiches and in the town of Wardenville about 10 miles away was a wonderful restaurant- the Lost River Brewing Company . http://www.lostriverbrewing.com/.
We would definitely visit again this summer.

Room Tip: Rosebud house had a kitchen with stove and refridgerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0kilimanjar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thanks for the kind words! :) David is an awesome bartender and even this past weekend I sampled some of his new creations for some guests including a peanut butter and jelly shot! Delicious! As for the televisions--- before the reservation or on day 1 we hear the hesitation but by checkout or when everyone returns to work everyone seems to remember the peace and quiet! :) We do have 4 public televisions that do get a crowd (especially when the latest tournament is on). The small cafe is the Lost River General Store ( www.thelostrivergeneralstore.com). I bought lunch for our servers and cleaning/maintenance teams this weekend and we had their yummy pulled pork sandwich platter! The brewery is fantastic and you can usally find us having dinner with them on Thursday or Sunday evenings! Try the asian wings next time-- they are awesome! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend at The Guesthouse and couldn't have been more pleased and impressed. The peacefulness, calmness and quiet we experienced made the visit even more special. Gary and Michael and Jesse were attentive, polite, upbeat and extremely gracious. The free breakfast was to die for and there was so much of it! Patty, the breakfast lady, sure knows how to cook and satisfy. The grounds are just lovely and so beautifully maintained. The facilities have so much to offer. Sooooooooo relaxing. It was difficult leaving, knowing how spoiled we were. We look forward to visiting a couple of more times this year! A visit is a "don't miss!"

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for the kind words! :) Both Patty and Becky make our wonderful country breakfasts! This is one of our favorite meals to serve! :) Our Chef can't get enough of Patty's biscuits w/ sausage gravy or panckaes! We look forward to seeing you at the Guesthouse soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

to kick off our vacation at the Guesthouse Lost River. It was a pretty setting. The room was smaller than expected, with a hard-to-work shower door. No TV in the room, and the TVs in the public rooms didn't work, even after our host helped with them. Skimpy towel service, very skimpy breakfast. Fruit cup, enough biscuits and gravy for everybody to have one. With what I know, I wouldn't have paid full price ($245/day) for this room.

The staff was friendly and the welcome sincere, and it included a cheese tray and a bottle of wine. The public rooms were nice, but the fireplaces were off and on a rainy day we needed a little warmth and coziness.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CosmeticsQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

I have struggled with responding to this because we haven't heard some of this feedback before. Skimpy is not a word we want to hear associated with the Guesthouse. :) I apologize that there wasn't enough breakfast but oversights to happen and I sincerely apologize. I hope you can give us a second chance and I would love to hear generous next time. :) The shower door was a bit stuck and we fixed that ASAP. We did have an issue with the TV in the media room which has since been replaced with a new flat screen TV. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we will be sure to strive to do better for each visitor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We recently had a business event in Lost River. Gary and Jesse were amazing and smoothly handled the get togethers with great service, The entire team really appreciated the "get away" feel and thought it made the meetings more productive than the typical convention hotel settings. It also provided a great team building opportunity by going on a team hiking adventure. Well done and thanks! Blair M

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank BMastDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you Blair for having your corporate event with the Guesthouse! We are looking to expand in this area and provide more events for offsite meetings and retreats like yours. It sounded like everyone was having a wonderful time! As former DC corporate and Federal Government employees we have been to our share of these type of events and couldn't agree more that this venue is ideal! We hope you have your next event with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We took advantage of the Living Social special to stay at Guesthouse Lost River last weekend. There was a mix-up with the reservations and co-owner, Gary, upgraded us to the Guesthouse Suite. I'll be hard pressed not to stay in the suite when we return - it will so be worth the extra price! The suite features a two-sided gas fireplace, a king bed, 1.5 baths and a kitchenette including a refrigerator, microwave and breakfast bar. We had our own private covered porch overlooking the pool and valley below. Hey, there was even a bidet - in West Virginia!!

The setting is beautiful and peaceful. We didn't think we'd get any cell reception, and though it was not stellar, we got enough to receive and send texts. There was wireless, as well.

Our package deal included a $25 voucher towards dinner in the GuestHouse restaurant on both Friday and saturday nights so we took advantage and the food was fabulous. We tried salmon, scallops, a quesadilla, shrimp & pasta in a wonderful suace, and a salted pecan cheesecake that was too yummy for words. Cornbread and one other bread are served before each meal and that cornbread could have been a meal unto itself!

The full breakfast, included in the room price, was one of the best aspects of our stay. Everyone arrives to be seated at 9a (food gets cold otherwise!) and we got to meet all the other guests, which was more fun than I'd anticipated.

The only negative was having no way to lock up when we left our room (no room keys are issued). I wasn't comfortable leaving expensive electronics in the room and it was a) a pain to lug everything out to the car and back whenever we left the room, and b) it was hot during the day which isn't great for the health of any electronic device.

Otherwise it was fantastic and we look forward to going back to stay when we're in need of another weekend getaway.

Room Tip: the Guesthouse Suite...SO worth the extra price if you can do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shari w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thanks so much Shari! Our mix up was your gain! :) I personally couldn't agree more about the Guesthouse Suite! I recently had my parents stay there when they visited from NY and I was able to spend some time up there. I forgot how off the beaten path you feel and we spent hours on the deck enjoying the view and rocking in the chairs. It's like your own private retreat! We look forward to having you back again! As for the keys, I certainly understand your uncomfort. We were the same way after moving here from the city. We now leave our keys in the truck overnight and have never had an issue (*knock on wood) in the 30+ years of the Guesthouse being in business. We will take this under consideration or perhaps look into a safe for valuables. Next time you visit-- we have areas in the Lodge that we would gladly lock up any items for you. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

If you're looking for privacy and some awesome natural experiences this is just where you want to be. Our room was beautiful and rustic with a huge porch that ran from building end to building end. We spent time hiking during the day and actually saw a pregnant doe lay herself down on the ground to take a nap nearly 35 ft. from us.She even knew we were there. The Guesthouse at Lost River is fabulous for photographers. Dinner was delicious! And breakfast was cool because you got to meet other people staying there. One of the nicest things about our stay was the immense hospitality we received from Gary and Michael. They really made us feel very special. I have no idea how they manage to do this with every single patron but they do. Thanks again for the wonderful experience! -Kerry&Matt

Room Tip: Loved the Builtmore II.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Kerry & Matt - you were both wonderful guests! It is easy to do because of one thing--- we enjoy it! We left the hustle and bustle of DC because of the Guesthouse (as former guests) we know how important a get away is! With our hospitality backgrounds the service is just second nature. We really enjoy getting to meet and spend time with our guests. And for those who appreciate being alone and privacy- we greatly respect that. We hope to have you both back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lost River
13.2 mi away
South Branch Inn Moorefield
South Branch Inn Moorefield
#1 of 2 in Moorefield
69 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
37 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810-8392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range: $165 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Guesthouse Lost River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing