We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Lost River
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A delightful surpise hidden quietly in the hills. 5 star dinning and true solitude. Don't look for televisions or internet here. This well appointed facility leaves technology in the city and guest are forced to relax with nature. Staff greeted us upon arrival making us feel at home from the moment we stepped out of our car. Rosebud cottage is pet friendly and allowed us to bring our faithful pet Jessebelle. Only concern was lack of keys for rooms. You lock up when your in but no way to lock up when your gone. Great location for the outdoorsman with national parks offering hiking, biking, water activities and horsebackriding. Quaint towns nearby offer a whimsical look at days gone by. Truely a space for rest and relaxation. Highly reccomend.. !!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Jean- Thank you so much for your wonderful review! :) We loved having you all visit and Jessebelle was so very well behaved and pleasant. :) We actually do have WiFi throughout the property-- sorry if we didn't let you know that. :) But yes no cell phone signals and many days I know I am thankful for that! As for the door locks, thank you for the suggestion! We have never had any issues, however, it is something we will take into consideration especially as we begin to update some of the guest rooms. We look forward to seeing you soon! Cheers! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
156
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A real West Virginia gem! Quite and lovely. Unlike B&B's and most small inns, They have so many public areas, you will never feel crowded...if you want to mingle you can but you can just as easily sit apart and read your favorite book or have a private chat.
Breakfast is communal style...great opportunity to meet other guests and pick their brains for day trips in the area.
Dining menu is limited but well prepared with some seasonal offerings when available. Small but well-stocked bar.
The art work and furnishings are very well done.
They owners, Michael and Gary are just marvelous hosts.

Room Tip: They do have a pet friendly room near the spa. Otherwise, the top-floor suite at the end has a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! :) We look forward to having you back again soon at the Guesthouse! The pool is scheduled to open Memorial Day weekend! Cheers! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Don't come to the Guesthouse looking for a lively nightlife. However if your goal is to simply get away from everything for a weekend then by all means book now. We recently visited the Guesthouse on Easter weekend. We arrived late on a Friday and were promptly greeted and made to feel right at home as the manager checked us in and accompanied us to the bar so we could get something to eat before the kitchen closed. We were traveling with our dog which was not a problem as we had booked one of the Dog friendly rooms at the Guesthouse. The next day we woke refreshed and stumbled on down to the Main house for breakfast. At first I did not think I was going to like the family style seating but it was actually quite pleasant talking to the other guest finding out little bits of information and tips on what to do during the day for Hikes. The breakfast itself was great changes daily and I'm told the pancake recipe keeps being handed down from chef to chef. For the area The Guesthouse could get away with serving up a mediocre meal, but the dinner menu includes brined pork, beef filets, and there is always something special. The pool was not open because it was still early but they were putting a new deck down and I could see how this will be quite the place to unwind on a lazy summer day. It's very close to DC but I'm from NYC, so it’s a little bit more of a commitment for me to go there, but I know I will be back.

Room Tip: There are two rooms which allow pets. We stayed in the Tower and Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gstorm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! :) As a born and raised NY'er it was great to have some other NY'ers come visit us! :) Taylor was such a great dog and he seemed to get as much relaxation as both of you up hanging out on the grassy hill! We look forward to seeing you guys again soon! Cheers! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Need to drop off the grid for a while? This is the place. Beautiful grounds, good food, well-stocked bar, comfortable rooms and owners who couldn't be more helpful. The public spaces are spacious and numerous. Parks for hiking and riding are nearby. If you're okay with no cell service - and sometimes it's great to just unhook from the technology - this inn makes the perfect weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Want the best views? Ask for the top floor of the Carriage House. It was a little like climbing up i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgpdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review of our Guesthouse Lost River! We look forward to future visits! I also couldn't agree more about your room selection and the views! That along with the Guesthouse have some great views-- especially the sunsets. Cheers! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Recently I made plans to stay at the Guesthouse at Lost River on the recommendation of several of my friends in the metro DC area. As a highly recommended Bed and Breakfast, I had very high expectations--and let me tell you, I wasn't disappointed.

I've never stayed in a real B&B, so it was interesting to see the difference between this and your typical hotel stay. If I had to describe it in one word, I'd use "chill." When we first arrived we were given a tour by the owner Gary who was extremely pleasent and who made us feel very welcome. The accomodations are amazing. I would absolutely recommend the Builtmore cottage suite to anyone looking for a four day getaway considering the huge space, hotel chic decorations and location/privacy in relation to the other buildings... that and the very romatic fireplace.

Realistically, this B&B is perfect for a couple or group looking to get away from the city. It is pretty far from even the rural highways, so perfect for fresh mountain air and a lack of light pollution/noise. Even for a city person such as myself the lack of cell phone coverage is refreshing. My only recommendation is that while there is a local general store right before the turn off you might consider stopping at the nearest grocery store (about 11 miles away) to stock the fridge with necessary supplies.

I would recommend to any of my friends and family a trip to this location. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, and the amenities vast. Thank you to the Guesthouse at Lost River for an amazing trip that won't be forgotten.

Room Tip: I loved the Builtmore cottage suite. It is a little more expensive, but the extra room and full kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It was a great weekend and we look forward to having everyone back again! Cheers! Michael & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We recently visited the Guesthouse and happened to be the only guests for our early-in-the-week two night stay. We really had no idea what to expect even after viewing the online photos and reading the reviews. It was spectacular! A beautiful setting, amazing lodging, great breakfasts, warm and wonderful owners and staff. It is the perfect location if you enjoy sunsets! We hiked at the Lost River State Park one day and at Trout Pond the next. There are hikes at the state park to suit all needs and abilities. We can't wait to go back to the Guesthouse when it's a little bit busier even though we treasured the quiet. It will remain as one of those places I will go to in my mind when I want to escape the stress of the real world.

Room Tip: We were in the Tower Suite which is one of the pet-friendly rooms. The perfect accommodation for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bleiblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Some times the mid-week stays are the best! We are typically very busy and sold out on weekends, so it's great to come in and truly have the Guesthouse all to yourself! :) It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope you come back to see us soon! Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very comfortable rooms reflecting a rustic local decor with mountain and forest views make this feel like a vacation. The staff, excellent food, bedrooms, warm communal spaces, amenities and friendly hosts make it feel like home. The best of both worlds--a getaway from the bustle of everyday city life, with all the comforts of civilization. Wi-Fi is available, and a short walk along the property will find you a spot to pick up most cell signals...if you want to be 'in touch'.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It is really great to disconnect in Lost River! Before we bought we frequented the Guesthouse often and it was great to tell everyone--- sorry no cell phone signal! :) The WiFi does help you stay connected when you need to though! We hope to see you back soon! Cheers! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lost River
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
2.2 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
34 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Chalet High Resort
Chalet High Resort
#1 of 1 in Basye
62 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Property: Guesthouse Lost River
Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810-8392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Guesthouse Lost River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing