We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Lost River
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This was a trip for business in the area and some years spending 150 nights a year in hotels etc. I have experienced all levels of service and types of properties. The owners/operators were/are wonderful I cannot imagine anyone visiting this place and not looking forward to returning. If you want/need to get away and just relax this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwitherstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 253 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

The Guest House is, simply put, a spectacular place in a bucolic yet accessible location. The buildings are meticulously decorated and very well cared for, the rooms spacious and clean, and the grounds are extraordinarily beautiful. The team--Bob, Tammy, and Dave are beyond professional--they are just the right balance of responsive and respectful. We will return to this special spot again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesphinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The friendliest, cleanest. Quite most relaxing time in a long time. Bob,david and Tammy are the best. Also the food is great. I highly recommend the guest house. Larry and Betty

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51,351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed here for weekend getaway and it was great. Superior service and warm, inviting setting. Very clean, rustic, with unique rooms and great deck. Full bar, nice selection of wine. Massage was very nice and the beds are fantatic. Stayed in suite, huge and wonderful with giant porch overlooking mountains. Will go again. Breakfast very fun, communal and family style.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I stayed at the Guest House with my partner in November and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. This lodge type facility is very beautiful, clean, and inviting. There are numerous living room, dens to sit and relax with a delightful mix of rustic details and great art.

I plan on returning soon to do some planning...it's a perfect location and setting to sit and think about what I need to do next with my life, work, family, etc. There are also a variety of outdoor activities in the area, which other guests had enjoyed and talked about in our casual conversation over breakfast. The Guest House also has a friendly bar, and a good game room, gym, and kitchenette for guests.

The food in the restaurant was good, and the family style breakfast was delicious. The three hosts also make the visit feel very personal and fun. You won't go wrong here!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipper-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We both live nearby, so we visit the Guest House not so much to stay but to enjoy their AMAZING property for special meals open to the public. This year's New Year's Eve dinner was one such occasion. While we're both local, we both work in the metro DC area, and eat out a lot -- but we've NEVER had a better meal in four states and the District of Columbia than the wonderful cuisine laid out for us on Dec. 31! Courses that would satisfy a picky foody, speedy and attentive service, and special attention from the warm-hearted proprietors. Everyone needs to spend some time at the Guest House!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My partner and I visited for a weekend - our first time at the Guest House. It absolutely exceeded our expectations! The room was nice with a very comfy bed. The lodge was beautiful, with many different areas to relax. This enabled you to spend time with other guests or be alone, as you with.

The hosts could not be any nicer. The breakfast was fabulous and the dinner was yummy. Would recommend eating dinner at the lodge as it is most convenient option.

There were several parks and a national forest to explore, and the area is quite rustic.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we gave a gift certificate to the Guest House for a holiday gift and we plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgbwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lost River
13.2 mi away
South Branch Inn Moorefield
South Branch Inn Moorefield
#1 of 2 in Moorefield
69 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
37 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810-8392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range: $165 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Guesthouse Lost River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing