We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found this place through Living Social, and it was definitely worth it! Our room was very clean and comfortable. It's not your typical B&B, in that there isn't a cooked to order breakfast. Instead, there were varieties of cold cereal, homemade muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, etc. I actually preferred this type of breakfast, as I found it healthier. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this B&B, and will likely go back for another visit.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Holn1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 37 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

The management and staff are caring people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. If you are looking for a bucolic setting, food prepared with skill and style, and served by attentive friendly folks then this is your kind of place. You will not be disappointed. Jim B., Room 10

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We used the livingsocial coupon like everyone else, so it was a good deal to have two nights + dinner and lunch voucher for just $170 plus tax. The breakfast was basic. (However I couldn't find hot water so I had to use microwave to boil my water in a cup). The grill was basic too. I recommend a hike in Lost River State Park nearby. You take the white oak trail for 2 miles up to Cranny Crow overlook and back down following the same route. Very relaxing weekend yet not much to do around. The bed is very comfortable, and the property was very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A great escape from the city life at this cozy and well-maintained inn. During our 2 night stay I never saw any staff - but breakfast was served in the kitchen bright and early (nice selection too), our room was made while we were gone hiking, and the wine and cheese reception fare on Saturday afternoon was displayed beautifully - so it's like the right things would just happen at the right time! Larry is a wonderful host and a skilled bartender at the Lost River Grill, and Saturday Night Karaoke was a lot of fun! The mountains provide gorgeous scenery with streams, lakes and a lot of wildlife - check out local parks. I can't wait to go back in the fall! I would highly recommend this place if you want to unplug, unwind and enjoy a simple weekend in Wild and Wonderful West Virginia!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l00karound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very rarely do I feel compelled to write a review IMMEDAITELY after I return from a trip but after the fabulous weekend I had at Lost River, I can't imagine waiting. My boyfriend purchased the Living Social deal as a present to me for my birthday but honestly, it was a gift for both of us. The stress of everyday life was at an ultimate high and a serene, remote retreat was exactly what we needed. The house is warm and welcoming, clean and fresh. You basically feel like you have a home in WV. The staff goes above and beyond to ensure you have the comforts to make your stay enjoyable. Although the house was full, we didn't really frequently see any of the guests and the owners don't "hover". Just a friendly smile and a "how's everything going" and that's it. We brought snacks to eat but mostly ate at the local diner. For a 2 night stay, there was plenty to choose from but if we had stayed longer, that might have become a little repetitious. It's a very simple place and they are very up front with the fact it's not a place to for nightlife activity or shopping. It's a home away from home geared to allow you time to decompress and rehydrate your mind, spirit and body. The state parks (we went to George Washington Forrest) that are local have breathtaking views and the view from the front porch of the B&B looks like something God himself painted. It really makes you appreciate the beauty we constantly oversee trying to get to the next stop in our everyday grind.

The GM - Larry, seems to work 24/7; manager, bartender, and server - you name it-this man does it, and does it WELL. We had a hiccup with our dinner experience and he went above and beyond to correct it to the point where we felt bad even bringing it up! If the B&B were a living person, he's the heart and soul :)

My boyfriend and I both have a extremely healthy respect for genuine people who are passionate about what they do. It's so obvious that it's not "just a job" to the staff - they actually care! It seems so simple but for us, it's very rare and extremely refreshing.

I cannot say enough about this place and the wonderful experience we had. I will happily return at my next opportunity and I know when I do, we'll be welcomed back like old friends.

PS: The only con I can think of (and it's not even really a con) is the bed. While it's extremely comfortable it's not...exactly... activity... friendly? :) If you're picking up what I’m putting down here. However, none of the beds are so you're all in the same boat when it comes to that. I'm actually giggling a bit even writing that but I think it's still worth mentioning.

Room Tip: I highly recommend breakfast at the diner (even though continental is included). The pancakes were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gwendolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place! This was our second time here. We made ourselves at home and enjoyed the hospitality. Restaurant next door has great food and the lounge is one of the area's best kept secrets. Larry is awesome! Looking forward to another visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamartinwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from a weekend at Lost River B&B. I had purchased a LivingSocial deal and wasn't sure what to expect. It exceeded my expectations. From making the initial reservation to breakfast the morning we left, our experience with Lost River B&B was a great one. The staff were all friendly and very hospitable. The house was cozy, quiet, and the room was comfortable and clean. The Lost River Grill is right down the hill from the B&B and had a great selection of food including vegetarian options. The lounge attached to the grill was also a nice place to unwind after a long day of hiking. During our stay, we drove to Seneca Rocks which is about an hour from Lost River and hiked the trails up the mountain. This was the perfect place to get away from city life and reconnect with the outdoors and each other. I would definitely recommend Lost River B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lost River
12.4 mi away
South Branch Inn Moorefield
South Branch Inn Moorefield
#1 of 2 in Moorefield
69 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
283 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
238 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost River Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost River Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8079 State Road 259, Lost River, WV 26810-8302
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range: $79 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Lost River Bed & Breakfast 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Applachians in Hardy County, WV Lost River Bed & Breakfast is comfort made simple in a restored country farmhouse. Each of our sleeping quarters provides a private bath, queen sized bed and the comfort one expects from a country Inn. Start your day with a continental breakfast, take in a novel on one of two screened porches, or simpley spend the evening next to the fireplace. Take a hike or horse back ride in Lost River State Park, relax on the sandy beach at Trout Pond Recreation Center or shop for a local craft at the Artisans Co-op. Two hours from the Nations Capital, our B&B is steps away from the GW National Forest and only an hours drive from Winchester and Harrisonburg, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lost River Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing