We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality and lacking cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logan
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Logan
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The service was lacking right from the get go, then when we got to the room it was less than clean. I had to clean the washroom myself as there were hairs in the tub and on the floor. (totally NOT acceptable) . You could see the dust on all edges everywhere. We were staying for 2 nights to go to the Hatfield McCoy tour the next morning so needed to stay close enough. The breakfast was lack luster and did not have too many choices I thought that I would take a chance on the Holiday Inn (I usually stay at Hilton's) but after staying here, I am definitely sticking with Hilton's .

Would NOT go back to this hotel nor refer anyone to go there

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logan, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear travelhunterOntario,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience at our hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable that your stay was negatively affected due to the level of cleanliness, service and quality of breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 74 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

1st had to get batteries for the thermosat so the heat to come on 2nd had to shake the handle on the tolet so it to stop the water from running 3rd plug in shower was not working so I had to hold it up by hand so the water would drain out told the front desk about this he just said he'll make a note never again at hampton

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logan, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Lou H,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Logan.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very nice place. Our stay was excellent in every way. The room, the breakfast, and the staff were very professional and friendly. Would gladly stay there again on our next trip. Thanks to all.
The location was easy to access and had shopping and restaurants for any taste with end walking distant. PS, Slept like a baby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

O.K.. this is my second stay at this hotel this year. Unfortunately we had to go back for a death in the family.

I am still just as impressed as last time. The mattress is very comfortable, the rooms are clean and the staff is much friendlier this time. People can make fun of the folks from WV but I find the hospitality there is way above par compared to other states.

We had 2 military discount rooms reserved but when we checked in, one of the rooms (Room 111) had a refrigerator and a microwave...Bonus!

There was so much jumping noise above our room (107), we were sure there had to be a gym directly above us but when we looked it was only rooms so there had to be somebody's kids allowed to jump off the bed. The staff offered to move us but we decided we would keep the room since both of us were sick and taking NyQuil at night and the jumping wouldn't disturb our sleep.

Let me tell you about the breakfast....

There was the normal cereal, yogurt,bagels, muffins, etc but there was also a pancake machine for fresh pancakes and one morning there were cheese omelets, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy (best non made at home ever had). Next day was scrambled (powdered again of course) sausage, biscuits and gravy. Not sure what it was, but there just seemed to be an extra touch to the breakfast that i haven't experienced before.

Room Tip: Ask for 111 as this had the fridge and microwave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend while visiting the Hatfield and McCoy trails. Although it wasn't very close to the trailheads nearby it was perfect. The beds are super comfy, the showers are amazing, and the breakfast is yummy. Don't forget your bathing suit for the indoor pool and hot tub. :) There is also shopping and several restaurants right next door.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsVanDam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Where to begin. I am extremely pleased with my stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Logan. My family and I stay in hotels often and we prefer to use the Holiday Inn Brand. There is none in comparison to the Holiday Inn in Logan, WV. My family and I have stayed at ALL Holiday Inn and Inn Express Brands in southern WV and several in Fl. We have never rec. such excellent customer service from all staff including Mgmt. to house keeping. The General Manager went out of his way for me and my husband during our last stay including helping us with directions and introducing us to all Logan, WV has to offer. It's not often that you can reach a general manager at a hotel not to mention have one that is that willing to go out of his way to help guests. The front desk staff were very polite and very helpful. Also, something that really sticks out is we were even greeted by the housekeeping staff. My family nor I passed one employee that didn't acknowledge us or say Hello!! Even down to the maintenance man outside cleaning the lot. The Breakfast Bar hostess Mary was so polite and stayed busy keeping fresh "food" on the hot breakfast bar. The room was extremely CLEAN!!! Our beds were very comfortable. I could've kicked back and said Ahhh, I feel at home and that is something when a hotel stay feels like home. I also Love the new carpet it looks great!!! Looking forward to take another trip to Logan, WV because I sure do miss my second home at the Holiday Inn Express in Logan, WV. I hope all staff see this thumbs up guys keep up the great work.

Room Tip: Room 226 is a very spacious, very comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here a couple of times and it has been a great experience. The rooms are nice and clean and roomy. The breakfast is good and the staff nice. Ample parking and some shopping in the area. We will stay here again when we go visit family in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teeroe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Logan
4 mi away
Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Logan
7.6 mi away
Best Western Logan Inn
Best Western Logan Inn
#1 of 2 in Chapmanville
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Hatfield McCoy House
Hatfield McCoy House
#2 of 3 in Williamson
56 reviews
2.3 mi away
Logan Super 8 Motel
Logan Super 8 Motel
#3 of 4 in Logan
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logan

Address: 101 George Kostas Dr, Logan, WV 25601-3487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Logan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Logan
Price Range: $124 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Logan Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located at the Fountain Place Mall with easy access to downtown Logan, WV. You can enjoy a scenic view of our glorious mountains from the comfort of your room. A variety of restaurants and shops are within walking distance of the hotel. Hatfield and McCoy's ATV Trail Rides, Coalfield Jamboree, Civil War Reenactment and Christmas in the Park are a few of the local attractions within fifteen miles of the motel. We have free internet access, indoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center and guest laundry for all the conveniences of home or office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Logan
Holiday Inn Logan
Logan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing