We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“No customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Cafe

Stardust Cafe
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“No customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We happened to be in Lewisburg during the Greenbrier Classic, so all the restaurants were exceptionally busy. People were lining up outside of Stardust awaiting their opening for dinner. We waited outside for approximately 20 minutes, with the staff walking by us multiple times carrying/moving supplies. Once open, we were all told they were accepting reservations only and turned away. There was no sign. Worse, one of the staff could not have mentioned this to us on one of their trips through the line? Rude.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank obxbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    71
    29
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We LOVE LOVE LOVED this place!!!!! Soooooo fresh and wonderful!!!! Cannot possibly say enough good things! Wow!! We had dinner there one night while staying at The Greenbrier. It was so incredible we went back for lunch the next day!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DonAmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much! We loved having you as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A unique place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Once you get past a level of perceived pretentiousness, the food is quite good. We sat at the bar because it was so crowded. Very impressed with the quality of ingredients and the overall freshness of what we were eating. If you want prepared super quick food, go elsewhere. But if you want food that is made especially for you using real ingredients, go here. I had the hamburger and it was great. My wife had a Topanga Salad, which she raved about. My son had a pretty good grilled cheese and just devoured it. Good place and would go back again if ever in the area.

Helpful?
Thank TravelDudeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for recognizing our efforts to make this a wonderful experience! We appreciate your taking the time to share this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had lunch at the Stardust Cafe. We all got the naked burger, and it was wonderful! Served with a really fresh salad which we all enjoyed. My only complaint-the nonexistent kids menu. They offered a grilled cheese with provolone (12 year old got, but not appealing to my 10 year old) or chicken and rice. She ended up with a salad with chicken, and oil and vinegar. That would be my only suggestion. Desserts were awesome, we had carrot cake, birthday cake, and the lemon tart.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alliek99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for publicly recognizing our huge efforts to make your experience at our restaurant, a wonderful one. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Local and Cooked Fresh - What a DELIGHT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

During one of our VIPP routes, we stopped by this place on a Friday evening. We did not make reservations (which I would now recommend), but the hostess (assuming she was also the owner) was very accommodating, and luckily, we had entered the restaurant during a slower time - so, we were seated in less than 5 minutes. The soft-blue color scheme and "cosmic" atmosphere is the perfect setup for a great evening meal and conversation. Would recommend dressing up a little ;)

Here is the breakdown of our meal:
Three slices of bread with balsamic and olive oil.
Salad with each entree.
Appetizer: The Mediterranean
My meal: Spinach nested chicken (replaced the spinach with zucchini) and lime/lemon soda
His meal: Curried chicken and mandarin orange Italian soda
Dessert: a slice of Chocolate Almond Torte, a slice of Guinness cake

We LOVED every plate! Everything was perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned, and perfectly portioned.

All under $80 and cooked fresh the moment you order.

Can't beat it! HIGHLY recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reebee2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience; we work hard to excel and your recognition means the world to us..come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stardust Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stardust Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing