We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“West Virginia's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julians - CLOSED

Julians
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“West Virginia's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have eaten in this restaurant for at least 15 years and having a second home in the area do so quite often. For my personal experience there isn't another public restaurant anywhere that has been as consistently good as Julians. I am not limiting that complement to Lewisburg or or West Virginia.
The food is excellent, wine selection superior and atmosphere very relaxing. I particularly like the availability of 1/2 bottles as it allows everyone to enjoy their favorite without compromising on a selection.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rreishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay Food, Horrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The food was fine but when my family went to dine here the extremely drunk owner decided to yell his political views at us without us soliciting his opinions.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bel59644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I dined at Julian's on Sunday night and had a wonderful dinner. We were staying in charming Lewisburg before checking into the Greenbrier. The owner,Steve, met us at the door with a friendly manner. He recommended a wine and explained the foods from local providers. We each had seafood that was done perfectly and accompanied with just right sides of vegetables. The blue cheese cheesecake was plenty to share as an appetizer. We would go back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We had a family dinner here the night before our wedding and everything was absolutely perfect. Great food and friendly staff. Can't ask for more.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank OHWVSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Odd but great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Julian is strange. Julians is hippe new age sexually ambigious. But the food is great and the thought behind it fun. One of my favorite spots for a long slow evning of conversation over a real meal..linger..like in Italy...never know you are in West Virginia!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julians also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing