We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Charm! Very Good Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of General Lewis Inn - Jefferson Dining Room

General Lewis Inn - Jefferson Dining Room
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve contemporary Southern cuisine, in a farm to table format. We believe that excellent food should taste excellent.
Chambersburg
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm! Very Good Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Sunday Brunch was awesome! The wait staff was very attentive, obviously well-trained and strived to make sure we were well-fed and pleased with our experience. We will return every chance we get!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    55
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington Park
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had breakfast twice and dinner once at the General Lewis Inn Restaurant. Wonderful service all three times. This was some good cooking! I don't normally eat at hotel restaurants, but do not pass up on eating here. This was some of the best food I had on my entire trip. Even better than my lunch at the Greenbrier Resort. And I guarantee you will not go away humgry!! And don't pass up the homemade jam and apple butter at breakfast - yum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felicia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had a Sunday brunch at the General Lewis Inn. The fruit and oatmeal brunch special was fresh and delicious. I also had the squeezed orange juice which was amazing. The ambiance is charming and friendly. It feels like home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizziesoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast of champions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I could smell the breakfast being cooked -- onions, biscuits, great coffee -- so I was hungry before I came down stairs. Really good homemade baking powder biscuits, home fries like home. And endless coffee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fireflew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasteful in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I had breakfast there twice, and both times, we were treated in a relaxed, friendly, yet efficient way. The food is basically along old southern cooking lines, and just unbelievably good-the feathery biscuits must come down from the sky! The value is extremely high. Chintz table toppers with matching napkins add charm, as well as the garden bouquets in small vases. You'll never find better staff anywhere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunsup605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Lewis Inn - Jefferson Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to General Lewis Inn - Jefferson Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing