We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Family Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn - Jefferson Dining Room

General Lewis Inn - Jefferson Dining Room
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve contemporary Southern cuisine, in a farm to table format. We believe that excellent food should taste excellent.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Family Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our family of 4 ventured over to the General Lewis Inn from the Greenbrier for a nice Saturday breakfast. We were greeted by the current owner and seated promptly. Our waitress was very nice and friendly - gave us a quick history of the Inn. The food was quite good - grits, b&g, country ham. Nothing overly fancy, but everything was tasty and the service was very good. The Sunday Brunch menu was more extensive than the regular breakfast menu. A nice place to eat if you're staying at the Greenbrier and want to go off-property for a meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    48
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lunch and a tour of the Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I were considering staying at this inn however, since other family members already booked at another location, we went with the group. We did come to the General Lewis Inn for lunch. The Inn was very beautiful with historic items to view both inside and out. I asked the front desk if we could see a room after we ate our lunch and she told us that we could walk around and view any room that has the door open. For lunch I had the Philly Cheese Steak special and it was amazing. My family who ate with me had different salads that were very large proportion and were hardy. The service was good and the restaurant was heavily decorated with antiques and war memorabilia. We really enjoyed our lunch. We did view the rooms after we ate and they were very nice. They had a lot of antique furniture and were much different than a standard hotel. I am sad to say that many of the rooms were very small. I suggest that if you stay here to view the rooms first, or ask to choose your room once you arrive. Some of the rooms have the sinks and vanity in the room rather than in the bathroom. If you don't mind the tight spaces, I would definitely recommend you check it out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food was delicious and wait staff were mostly all very friendly. Although grits came cold and when my daughter asked what was the quiche and soup of the day, the kitchen told the waitress "I don't know" At least that's what she told us. So we ordered the "Quiche Surprise." :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank italywithamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old hotel full of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent food. Charming rooms decorated with antiques. One has the feeling of being in the living room of someone's house while strolling through this interesting spot. Good southern fare.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed here 30 years ago and are pleased to report that its just as wonderful as before. It's a classic old but very quaint Inn. Rooms are wonderful and the dining room is small but the food and wait staff are just excellent. If you're in the Greenbrier Valley don't miss this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiscoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Lewis Inn - Jefferson Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to General Lewis Inn - Jefferson Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing