We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service slow, good bread and entree” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Food & Friends

Food & Friends
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cozy spot where innovative fare such as the bourbon salmon salad & crab dip draws a bustling crowd.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Service slow, good bread and entree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I had a recent birthday dinner here while passing through. My husband and I split the grouper special, which was topped with scampi sauce. We needed to ask for more scampi sauce (which required multiple flagging downs of our server) but once we added more sauce, it was excellent.
The bread, served in terra-cotta flower pots, was excellent. And do try the peanut butter pie, which is also quite tasty.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank raincitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    127
    39
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

First time trip advisor steered me wrong! Not good food for the price and location (lewisburg is so quaint and beautiful). I ordered the steak wrap - it was shaved fatty beef, not steak at all! Lettuce and tomatoes were wilted and tasteless - unacceptable for this time of year! Dressing had no flavor, feta cheese was cheap. I omitted the salad after looking around at other tables - all iceberg lettuce. My husband and nephew enjoyed their greasy burger and Reuben, so if you're interested in fattening average food this is the place for you! We should have revisited the Stardust Cafe up the street - for the same price we could have enjoyed fresh local food, good salad, sustainable beef and chicken. Much healthier and tastier!!!

The only positive for me was the attentive service. I actually had to turn down a drink refilll.

Will not be back. Fast food would have been 1/3 of the price and probably better! They had a good lunch crowd on a Tuesday, so business should be good enough to improve the quality of food!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank betherd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of Our Fav's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We always try to make it to Lewisburg when we are visiting family in Wv. It is a quaint little town with shopping and some great food. We have been eating at this establishment for several years and as I stated we 'always' make it here to eat when we are in Wv. We have tried both lunch and dinner. They are closed on Monday's so time your visit and you will not be disapointed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We Liked It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Unlike some of the other reviews, we found the food and service to be very good! We were promptly greeted and seated. The crab bite appetizer, though ordinary, was very good. My husband had beef that was exceptionally tender and tasty. I had Meditterranean salmon which was also very flavorful. The bread pudding dessert was amazing! The atmosphere was cozy. Would definitely recommend this place if you are in the quaint town of Lewisburg WV.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PAM857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted warmly. Seated promptly. Served quickly. Meals were prepared perfectly. Everything was delicious! Servers were friendly. This town is fantastic!! We will visit Lewisburg and this eatery again!!

Helpful?
Thank Doodlemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food & Friends also viewed

 

Been to Food & Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing