We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale yet casual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Food & Friends

Food & Friends
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cozy spot where innovative fare such as the bourbon salmon salad & crab dip draws a bustling crowd.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Upscale yet casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The various menu offerings were creative renditions of American fare. My corn bisque soup was worth going back for. Our entrees continued the good start. The service was excellent and the food arrived promptly.

The restaurant was popular. Fortunately our hotel receptionist suggested we make a reservation. Once seated we were comfortably separated from others and we enjoyed a very quiet meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    127
    39
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
309 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A Very Good Casual Dining Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This old standby in downtown Lewisburg has experienced a step up in class since my last visit to town. The atmosphere is a bit more upscale but still a place you can go comfortably in jeans or khakis. The menu is expansive, food better than average and service friendly. Meals are priced fairly and I would consider dinner a good value here. If you don't want a chain restaurant but don't want to spend a king's ransom on a good dinner, this place is a good choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Sort of good old southern comfort food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The food is always good. The service efficient but sometime without charm. It is, for me, too much fried food and red meat. Sometimes I just do a shrimp cocktail and soup.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wvjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss?.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Heard this place "talked up" by some local folks so thought I would give it a try. Had the sampler platter for starters, was basic over fried assortment of stuff. French onion soup with croutons thrown on top and a glob of cheese in the bottom of the bowl? (was Honey Boo-Boo working in the kitchen that day?) Portobello Mushroom Sandwich flavorless. Friend said Eggplant Parmesan quite good. Another had Taco Salad which was just okay. Food a bit overpriced. Servers pleasant, efficient, place has good atmosphere but all things considered not enough pluses to make me want to return on my next visit to lovely Lewisburg.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lookingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Met with family here for lunch and spent a good bit of time talking. The food was outstanding. Everyone loved their food and the 7 of us ordered different items. The price was reasonable. A very good place to eat. They treated us well and allowed us to have a short birthday party.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food & Friends also viewed

 

Been to Food & Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing