We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceptional, Donation-Only House Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbrier Historical Society and North House Museum

Greenbrier Historical Society and North House Museum
301 W Washington St., Lewisburg, WV 24901
13046453398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Lewisburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Exceptional, Donation-Only House Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This lovely home has been converted into a wonderful house museum that contains many unexpected finds! The staff is knowledgeable and extremely accommodating. I was very impressed that they have an elevator for guests who are unable to use the stairs. The furnishings are beautiful, and the changing exhibit room is very interesting. There is a nice gift shop, clean bathrooms, and archive room & a true West Virginia welcome. We came away feeling delighted! You really should make this your first stop in Lewisburg!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank labsadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“American History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Unusually good for this type of museum. My wife liked the old furniture, etc.; I liked the old pioneer artifacts; actually went there to see the big gun used at Ft. Donnelly. The guided tour was excellent, and there is a room off tour with files of historic material which may be viewed by request, if desired.
Visited July 2012, family reunion.
Photos not encouraged.
Book and Gift shop available.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MeetMeInTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very informative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This museum was really neat. The guided tour was very informative and I learned a lot of new stuff about the area while looking and historical items.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Unusually well done for this type”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This one is an old manor house furnished in the upper class English tradition that you see in places like Williamsburg and Mount Vernon, although it is not quite that old. We often stop at museums of this type, and don't expect to get much out of it. this case, we had a personal tour from a very knowledgeable woman, and as we know a few things ourselves, it turned out to be a mutual exploration of a way of life that was instrumental in this nation's history. Strongly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank chazzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbrier Historical Society and North House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Greenbrier Historical Society and North House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing