We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of China Palace

China Palace
Ranked #39 of 50 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
301 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Food was cold and I didn't really find much that was worth eating. The bananas and strawberry glaze were good and fresh. Even the hot tea wasn't as good as it usually is. I don't think it was green tea. The fried items were not very crisp--stale tasting and chewy not crunchy.

Helpful?
Thank gardeningteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Passin thru lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Buffet on Sunday .. $12.99 and plenty to choose from. A little sushi, good salad bar, soups, egg rolls, deserts .. it's all great. Might be a bit high compared to others I've eaten at and buffet isn't as big ... but they have quality to offset the quantity difference. I'd go again

Helpful?
Thank Flylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
“Regular says Stay Away Monday Lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten at this place many times over the years when immediate food is the primary desire. Lunch on a recent Monday was So bad I chose to write a negative review. Old over refrigerated food barely heated and screaming breeding ground! Will not return at lunch early in the week ant time soon. Disappointed too manta times:(

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family has dined at this restaurant many times over the years and the food has always been what I would rate as above average for Chinese fare. We normally get take-out but during the times we have dined in, the service has always been top notch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WV_Wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
265 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not too bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Only Buffet, was passing through town and had not tried this one before. If you are really hungry and on a tight budget and not real fussy about food this is the place. Buffet was around 12 dollars per person, all you can eat. My best advice, sample a small amount of items you think you will like then choose. Won ton soup was horrible, but some of the entrees were OK, the fried items were the best. (not the best choice..but if hungry..you will eat it). The ribs were not bad, a little tough but not fatty. Chicken dishes were pretty tasty, fried rice was good...enough to get you by and the deserts were the best part of the meal. I am not a real fussy eater so if you are looking for fine chinese this is probably not the place. I did see many people make 7-8 trips to the tables with mounds of food, but I would say this is a "quantity" rather than "quality" dining adventure. Staff were very friendly and seemed like there were a fair amount of locals here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing