We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food, atmosphere and price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Livery

The Livery
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: First and foremost, our family loves the town of Lewisburg; it's shops, people and rich history. Our family has been visiting Lewisburg since 2003 when we purchased Westwinds, a horse farm in western Virginia near Lake Moomaw. While we've enjoyed the several restaurants in town, we also felt the locals as well as tourists would welcome and support more restaurant options, and so far we've been right! Our family's first restaurant, Stella's, has been a hit since we opened in January, 2011. Stella's, named and inspired after our mom Alice Stella Hirt who passed away in 1985, is warm, welcoming and elegant, just like our mom was. Stella's has many feminine touches which were influenced by our mom and put into place by Tammy. Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, on the other hand is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800's tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away in 2012. You'll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a quaint little restaurant where literally everyone knew everyone else. It felt like we walked into a family reunion and we were invited to join the party! The ribeye was melt-in-your mouth, and the lobster/crawfish risotto was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SavvyShopper417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    32
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Was very romantic and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The hostess was drunk and insulted me as I walked in, but the rest of my experience was great! Food was the best in town. We felt so lucky to eat here! The employees were also very proud of their restaurant. I had a pot pie and I'm still thinking about it 6 months later

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hchedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I Wonderful Suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I am not a big steak restaurant fan and I mistakenly thought that was what The Livery was all about so I had avoided it for some time. They do have excellent steaks, so I am told, but their menu is much more extensive than that. The food is excellent and a bargain for the quality served.
I was impressed by the decor, the service and the ambiance.
Lewisburg has an amazing amount of excellent restaurants and this one rates with the best of them. It will definitely be added to my regulars.
P.S. The drinks are up to par as well!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rreishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great New Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Highly recommend this restaurant as one of Lewisburg's finest newly remolded great food with excellent atmosphere reservations recommended but also can walk in and sit down at the bar and eat as well formerly Winkler's Printing and Office Supply. Across from the Post Office in downtown Lewisburg WV named as The Coolest Small Town's on the East Coast . A must for all people traveling through the area. One you don't want to miss eating at. Also has live music sometimes a nice little extra , so when in town make sure and check it out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TammyPyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
214 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Livery is absolutely tops all the way around: beautiful surroundings, warm, friendly service, and really delicious, creative cuisine. We were greeted by a friendly hostess who was totally fine with our personal preference of dining at the bar. Stacey, the bartender/server was friendly and did a wonderful job serving us. The manager, Nancy, came by to say hello and made some menu recommendations. We started with appetizer portion of the short ribs.. They were the best either my husband or I have ever tasted. Talk about melt in your mouth! I had the almond encrusted trout, which was excellent. My husband had the daily feature of crab encrusted salmon. Also delicious. We are staying at The Greenbrier for a few days. We have decided to leave the resort for another great meal at The Livery. We travel extensively, both domesticity and internationally. The restaurant would be tops anywhere. Don't miss it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveLiveTravelEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing