We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sweet delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella's

Stella's
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Stella's is a special experience in a special town. Take a step back in time to the romance period of the West Virginia mountains, meet the people who've made this historic town their home and enjoy the community spirit that has made Lewisburg grow and prosper. Stella's is a true reflection of this town's spirit, its warmth, charm and above all, it's hospitality. Its everything our mother, Alice Stella would have wanted. See for yourself and join us at Stella's!
Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sweet delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very clean, bright and well appointed house with equally nice food. Sweet place. Service was suberb, food was good and brunch prices were very reasonable. Would eat there again, if we get back to Lewisburg.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 50statetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    33
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Exquisite Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A friend and I happened to be driving through and stopped here on a recommendation. We probably wouldn't have found it otherwise, as it's right off the main drag - a pretty little white house with a charming patio with fountain and flowers. Inside were beautifully-laid tables, flower arrangements and chandeliers that might have been a bit over the top but looked just right here. The service was excellent and as for the food - well, it was delicious. My friend and I both chose the Crab and Avocado Benedict, which was every bit as good as it sounded but also on the menu were other temptations, such as Grand Marnier French Toast and Asparagus and Mushroom Crepes. Not your usual bacon, eggs and homefries place, so you might be disappointed if that's the sort of thing you like. My only disappointment was that they didn't serve mimosas before 1pm but I suppose that's not their fault. I had a perfect grapefruit juice instead. Sorry we couldn't come back for dinner!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annofwimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming and Delicious in Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Early this week I had the pleasure of being in Lewisburg WV for a few nights. Looking for an alternative to the restaurants at the Greenbriar I stumbled upon Stella's Tea House. This quaint restaurant on a side street is charming both inside and out. The patio dining area looked inviting but the weather not. Inside the freshly restored building is bright and airy with local art for sale. The dark hardwood floors, heavy white molding and tasteful accents make for an inviting yet unpretentious ambiance. Definitely the opposite of the Greenbriar decor.

The menu offerings were compact but interesting. Nearly all dishes from local purveyors of trout, beef and hen. Many of the vegetables and herbs were harvested in Stella's own garden we were told. Our table enjoyed 3 spanakopita in a sauce, tomato basil soup, and the crab stuffed trout. Oh my, the meal and service was flawless.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3bugaboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
195 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Expensive and Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful supper here. The portions were average size. Everything was cooked to perfections and delicious. Service was excellent. Outdoor dining is an option.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank To-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recovery - July 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We came for the Greenbrier Classic golf tournament and we're surprised to see a community hit by a major "land hurricane" taking 100 year old trees down like twigs. Six days later, power was restored in the area on the day we arrived and we happened upon Stella's, a finely restored Victorian era home/restaurant.

The setting was quite charming, the service was as well. Our food was on a par (no golf pun intended) with fine restaurants in other much more cosmopolitan areas.

Would love to see a few less pricey entrees, otherwise we'd love to revisit. $25-30 entrees being close to average is pricey for this part of the world, knowing the "sustainable" movement they convey is a big selling point, I would like to keep my wallet a little more sustainable as well. We would love to spend about $15-22 an entree versus the $25- 30 that they offer. There a couple lower priced items, so don't think that everything is upscale.

I will say that if you're looking for a special place, this qualifies. Just not a regular place based on pricing.

We'll be back for that special occasion when in the area. We're North Carolinians that loved their presentation. Quaint, charming, worth the special visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank TheCreekMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's also viewed

 

Been to Stella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing