We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
13
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2015

The room is over the carriage house which is nice for privacy. Very comfortable room and 4 poster bed. Wayne and Tara were wonderful hosts. The breakfast choices are tremendous and are delicious. Be sure to ask for the cinnamon rolls! They are knowledgeable about the area for visiting sites as well as the Greenbrier River. Walking distance to town, although the sidewalk is uneven in places, for dinner and drinks. Nice farmers market on Saturday close to the home.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015

Three forever friends all turning 60 this summer decided to get away and spend some quality time together. A family friend clued us in to Lewisburg so began our search for a bed and breakfast where we could celebrate our birthdays without disturbing others. The room could be used as an efficiency apartment; it had everything we needed, and is located above the carriage house separate from the main house but close to town. The king and full size beds were very comfortable; we had no problem sleeping. Free wi-fi too! Wayne and Tara were wonderful hosts and provided fantastic breakfasts that kept us full for hours. Good thing the scenic Greenbrier River Trail is nearby to help walk off some calories. They are also an excellent source for things to see and do in the area. The entrance is off of Holt Lane. HINT: Googlemaps does not show correct location. It is actually about a block up Washington Street.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdowds88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2015

My wife I and I had only three days to get away, and a colleague recommended Lewisburg as a quiet, "cool" place. I thought a B&B would be fun and different - but I had no idea how wonderful it would be. The room is above their carriage house, private and comfortable - and with every amenity you can think of. Wayne and Tara have really given a lot of thought to what someone might want or need (fridge, coffee maker, snacks, DVD player). And the breakfasts are just incredible - everything the other reviewers have said is true. Unbelievable but true.

Lewisburg really is a cool town, but the highlight of the trip was the Great Oak. You will not be sorry.

Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
2  Thank williamcunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2014

Yes! Perfect! Wayne and Tara are wonderful! The accommodations are clean and comfortable plus close to everything! The room is very private and has all the special touches you need to feel right at home. The breakfast each morning was to die for! Let me tell you, you will not be hungry for lunch! :) If you need any advice as to where to go, what to do or where to eat, Wayne and Tara are very helpful. Such nice people! We hope to visit them again! They were even so sweet to sing me happy birthday at breakfast, even had a candle to make my wish on! Who could ask for more? Please give Great Oak a try you will love it! I promise!

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dogmomma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2014

We plan to visit again! Gourmet breakfast with vegetarian and gluten-free options available. Pecan sticky buns were absolutely amazing! Comfortable room with plenty of space for spreading out. The hosts were delightful and their recommendations for restaurants, shopping & biking were spot-on.. The Greenbrier River Trail is very close and an absolutely beautiful trail to ride. We were delighted to find delicious restaurants, interesting galleries and good shopping within walking distance. Lewisburg deserves the title of Coolest Small Town in America and staying at The Great Oak made it a perfect visit.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews