We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great owners, and an amazing breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Oak B&B

The Great Oak B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Great Oak B&B
Save
You added The Great Oak B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, great owners, and an amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is actually my second time staying at The Great Oak and it will likely not be the last! The first time I stayed was in 2006 and remembered it all these years to think to stay there again this trip! The owners Tara & Wayne are amazingly friendly and helpful and are fantastic chefs!

Their property is right off the main strip of Downtown Lewisburg and is close enough in to make it an easy walk into downtown for dinner and entertainment. It is a lovely quiet area with tons of shops, some historical attractions, caverns, theatre, and great places to eat, including the cannot be beat breakfast right there at the B&B!

Your stay will be in their carriage house, a little apart from their main house, so completely private. You walk up a flight of stairs to a nice size room with both a double and a king bed as well as A/C, a ceiling fan, TV, DVD player, a mini-fridge, coffee-maker, and a microwave. The room is very tastefully decorated and quite comfortable. There is also a nice sized bathroom with a tub/shower combo and tons of fresh towels.

While the room is lovely, the absolute best part of the stay here is the breakfast, not only for the great food which you get to choose from a large list, but also because of the company of Tara & Wayne while you dine in their home. They are a lovely couple and are great storytellers who seem to truly enjoy sharing their passion for cooking and life with others. Our breakfast ran almost 2 hours, mainly because we had such a good time chatting. The food though, is absolutely spectacular and they will happily accommodate requests for off menu items as well.

Do not miss out on this gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I recently visited this bed and breakfast, and we absolutely loved it. The room is private, quiet, and very clean. The property is beautiful, and the town of Lewisburg was full of fun things to do and places to eat. The breakfast served at the Great Oak was delicious! The owners make everything fresh that morning, based on the guests' selection from a menu the night before. It was clear that the owners put a lot of time and effort into making their bed and breakfast high quality! We will definitely be returning for a visit in the future, and we will recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBM627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We traveled with a 60lb lab and needed somewhere we could leave him while we went sightseeing. I wanted somewhere he would not be bothered by noises from other guests and where he would not bother anyone if he barked. The Great Oak was Perfect!!! The room is actually the upper floor of the carriage house and it is charming. Immaculate, pretty, and private sums up this room. We were thrilled!! The breakfast was more than we could ever eat and so good! Lots of choices! Tara and Wayne were super friendly and knowledgeable of the are. A short walk past beautiful historic homes brings you to downtown where there are shops and restaurants galore!! We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The house is on the corner of two busy roads, so there is a little road noise, but don't let tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I made a reservation while still on vacation. We were coming back from Marion In so we had traveled about 500 miles. Was greatful to find the home however when I pulled up it need painting and that was a little bit of apprehension...all that went away when we got up stairs to the room we stayed in. WOW. We walked into town to enjoy a wonderful dinner and then came back and enjoyed our beautiful room and some of the amenities. Comfortable beds and a good size bathroom. The carraige house room is just above an old carraige house that has been transformed into a private room.
You choose what you want for breakfast from a LARGE menu and the next morning you have more than you could ever eat sitting in front of you. All freshly made to order and hot. Wonderful company talking to Wayne and Tara. We could have stayed all day in conversation if we didn't have be somewhere else that day.
If you have the pleasure of staying here you will not be dissappointed.

Room Tip: There is only one room. The house sits on a conor lot and it is a little bit to find but look for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nofalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.7 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
2.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
24.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Oak B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Oak B&B

Property: The Great Oak B&B
Address: 421 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1701
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing