We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun bar in a quiet little town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Pub on Washington

Irish Pub on Washington
109 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV
(304) 645-7386
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 48 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a fun bar in a quiet little town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They have wide variety of beer selection. The bartender was very friendly. There was a musician playing something live when we walked in. charming place for a drink.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveleryu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Selection of Bottled Beer ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

About a dozen draft brews. Literally 99 bottles on the rail above the bar. Not your typical Irish Pub. Menu consisted of 4 entree items & 4 apps - none if the standard pub fare. But the Irish stew was tasty! I enjoyed it with a pint of local brew IPA - Seneca

Helpful?
Thank Sparky92350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice selecton of beer, friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A genuine Irish pub in a small town atmosphere. Food is decent, and beer selection is very good. Some good Irish whiskey brands, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank andycblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“99 bottles of beer on the wall!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I stopped in the Irish Pub while we were sight seeing in Lewisburg. One of the cool things here was that there were 99 bottles of beer on the wall. The friendly bartender explained to us that if patrons drink one of each beer they have....they carry 99 different types....the patrons get their name on the wall and a hoodie. I thought that was interesting and fun. Don't worry, you don't have to drink them all in one night...they have a check list. So, if you like beer, this may be a place that you want to check out if you are in Lewisburg. They play traditional Irish music, they also have live music, but not on the night we were there, and friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great stop for drinks and entertainment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

While in Lewisburg this past weekend, we stopped in to the Irish Pub downtown for a drink and stayed for a few as well as the fun!

The Pub is located on the main strip in downtown and is an easy walk from many of the B&B's nearby. You will likely want to walk since their drink menu is extensive, well-priced, and very good! They also had a local entertainer singing a lot of Irish pub songs and he was a lot of fun, getting the crowd involved and even heckling some of the patrons!

The drink list is a booklet they drop by the table, about 10 pages long and includes several pages of beers by category/style, a page full of shots, a page for wine offerings, and a cocktails section. The food menu is quite lacking, just a few small items to be ordered, and just ok quality there, but the place makes up for that in what it is meant to be, a pub!

I started with their Black Velvet... a mix of Guinness and champagne. Had never had it before, but likely will again when and if I can ever find it! I then moved on to their house special Bloody Mary and it was the spiciest and one of the best I have ever had! Sooo spicy! To me it tasted like it may have habaneros in the recipe, but they would not share any info on their house secret mix with me. It was garnished though with green bean, pickled okra, lemon, lime, and olives, so I was a huge fan all around!

There aren't many places to go at night in downtown Lewisburg, but it is nice to know that this one is open and is worth the trip. Just eat before you go and maybe plan to walk back to wherever you are staying!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Pub on Washington also viewed

 

Been to Irish Pub on Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing