We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“99 bottles of beer on the wall!!!!”

Irish Pub on Washington Street
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: An authentic Irish Pub with live Celtic music 5 nights a week, as well as local musicians. Fresh, house-made food, extensive beer list, and full bar with large selection of Irish whiskey. Family friendly with a small-town, welcoming atmosphere.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“99 bottles of beer on the wall!!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I stopped in the Irish Pub while we were sight seeing in Lewisburg. One of the cool things here was that there were 99 bottles of beer on the wall. The friendly bartender explained to us that if patrons drink one of each beer they have....they carry 99 different types....the patrons get their name on the wall and a hoodie. I thought that was interesting and fun. Don't worry, you don't have to drink them all in one night...they have a check list. So, if you like beer, this may be a place that you want to check out if you are in Lewisburg. They play traditional Irish music, they also have live music, but not on the night we were there, and friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great stop for drinks and entertainment!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While in Lewisburg this past weekend, we stopped in to the Irish Pub downtown for a drink and stayed for a few as well as the fun!

The Pub is located on the main strip in downtown and is an easy walk from many of the B&B's nearby. You will likely want to walk since their drink menu is extensive, well-priced, and very good! They also had a local entertainer singing a lot of Irish pub songs and he was a lot of fun, getting the crowd involved and even heckling some of the patrons!

The drink list is a booklet they drop by the table, about 10 pages long and includes several pages of beers by category/style, a page full of shots, a page for wine offerings, and a cocktails section. The food menu is quite lacking, just a few small items to be ordered, and just ok quality there, but the place makes up for that in what it is meant to be, a pub!

I started with their Black Velvet... a mix of Guinness and champagne. Had never had it before, but likely will again when and if I can ever find it! I then moved on to their house special Bloody Mary and it was the spiciest and one of the best I have ever had! Sooo spicy! To me it tasted like it may have habaneros in the recipe, but they would not share any info on their house secret mix with me. It was garnished though with green bean, pickled okra, lemon, lime, and olives, so I was a huge fan all around!

There aren't many places to go at night in downtown Lewisburg, but it is nice to know that this one is open and is worth the trip. Just eat before you go and maybe plan to walk back to wherever you are staying!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zweibruecken, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Delicious food - excellent beer!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Delightful little place in the middle of downtown, with easy street parking.

The friendly wait staff helped us choose our beers. We really enjoyed our Corned Beef and Swiss, and the Irish Stew for dinner!

You won't be disappointed: Great atmosphere!! Delicious food. Excellent, AUTHENTIC, live music!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lauramaymuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is your typical pub. They have a great choice of beer and menu items. They also have Happy Hour for 3:00 - 7:00 and you can get $3.00 drafts. The bartender was very personable. It was the perfect spot to get a cold beer on a hot day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Say-Wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As close to an Irish Pub as you can find in WVa!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ended up here when our target restaurant was closed. Bartender uber-friendly and food was good for a regular restaurant and not just a pub.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wetravelKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Pub on Washington Street also viewed

 

Been to Irish Pub on Washington Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing