We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unexpected Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's - CLOSED

Giovanni's
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Giovanni's is a Wonderful Breakfast , Brunch, Lunch Cafe with outdoor Dining Options. Entrees served all day, Breakfast Menu is served all day. Pastries, Donuts, Muffins, Fresh Breads are made Daily Dessert, Cheesecakes. All of the meats , poultry, pork , beef are all supplied from local farms around Greenbrier County. Produce is also on hand year around . Stop by for some Coffee and some good conversation.
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Located south of Lewisburg in an old non-descript home this was a great place to get good simple Italian food, nothing fancy but great people and great food

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JKJaniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Nice Little Place for Romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Place is Cozy with Classy Comfort Food and Internet Access. It's a great place for Romance even if a person is Solo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Star4Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Eat in or take out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

don't let the mismatched furniture and dishes put you off. The friendly staff (usually the owners) and delicious food will make you a fan. We eat here, at least once each week, and have never had an unsatisfactory experience.

You will note below that I've checked the atmosphere is very good. We simply enjoy the friendly atmosphere and eclectic furnishings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WVMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellant homemade pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This restaurant makes their own pasta and will even take orders for gluten free pasta for folks who can't eat wheat products.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Gem in Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Giovanni's is a little place, just north of the interstate. If you're headed through the area, make time to stop by. If nothing else, pick up a pan of lasagna to go and you'll be a welcome guest when you arrive.

I stopped by with my two six-year-old sons for dinner on a long road trip. I ordered a salad for myself and pasta dishes for the kids. The portions are generous, but they can also do half sized versions. I planned to eat what the kids didn't. There wasn't much left.

I ordered a salad with roasted vegetables. I'm not much of a salad guy, but this dish had heart. Just the right amount of roasted root veggies to make it a filling meal. I didn't even need the dressings that came on the side.

Primo is on a bit of a health kick, so he had the greens and sausage. It's a deceptively simple dish. Out came a plate of penne with rabe and mild sausage. The dish doesn't look like much, but every bite makes you want to eat more. The broth was worth slurping off the plate.

Secondo's favorite dish is lasagna, so that was easy. I only got a couple of bites in as he finished off the entire plate. Based on what I had, I'm not surprised. The ricotta beats the stuff I can get at the Italian Store in Arlington, VA. It's made in house as are the lasagna noodles. The entire dish is topped off with a bit of marinara sauce.

My rating is a bit lower than others, but this place doesn't pretend to be a five star experience. Three terrific dishes with two lemoncellas set us back $36. Amazing value.

Two notes of caution. They're not licensed, but you're welcome to bring your own bottle. Second, hit the ATM before going as they don't take credit cards.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FairlingtonBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing