We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Little Place for Romance”
Review of Giovanni's - CLOSED

Giovanni's
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Giovanni's is a Wonderful Breakfast , Brunch, Lunch Cafe with outdoor Dining Options. Entrees served all day, Breakfast Menu is served all day. Pastries, Donuts, Muffins, Fresh Breads are made Daily Dessert, Cheesecakes. All of the meats , poultry, pork , beef are all supplied from local farms around Greenbrier County. Produce is also on hand year around . Stop by for some Coffee and some good conversation.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Nice Little Place for Romance”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Place is Cozy with Classy Comfort Food and Internet Access. It's a great place for Romance even if a person is Solo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Star4Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Eat in or take out”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

don't let the mismatched furniture and dishes put you off. The friendly staff (usually the owners) and delicious food will make you a fan. We eat here, at least once each week, and have never had an unsatisfactory experience.

You will note below that I've checked the atmosphere is very good. We simply enjoy the friendly atmosphere and eclectic furnishings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WVMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellant homemade pasta”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This restaurant makes their own pasta and will even take orders for gluten free pasta for folks who can't eat wheat products.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Gem in Lewisburg”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Giovanni's is a little place, just north of the interstate. If you're headed through the area, make time to stop by. If nothing else, pick up a pan of lasagna to go and you'll be a welcome guest when you arrive.

I stopped by with my two six-year-old sons for dinner on a long road trip. I ordered a salad for myself and pasta dishes for the kids. The portions are generous, but they can also do half sized versions. I planned to eat what the kids didn't. There wasn't much left.

I ordered a salad with roasted vegetables. I'm not much of a salad guy, but this dish had heart. Just the right amount of roasted root veggies to make it a filling meal. I didn't even need the dressings that came on the side.

Primo is on a bit of a health kick, so he had the greens and sausage. It's a deceptively simple dish. Out came a plate of penne with rabe and mild sausage. The dish doesn't look like much, but every bite makes you want to eat more. The broth was worth slurping off the plate.

Secondo's favorite dish is lasagna, so that was easy. I only got a couple of bites in as he finished off the entire plate. Based on what I had, I'm not surprised. The ricotta beats the stuff I can get at the Italian Store in Arlington, VA. It's made in house as are the lasagna noodles. The entire dish is topped off with a bit of marinara sauce.

My rating is a bit lower than others, but this place doesn't pretend to be a five star experience. Three terrific dishes with two lemoncellas set us back $36. Amazing value.

Two notes of caution. They're not licensed, but you're welcome to bring your own bottle. Second, hit the ATM before going as they don't take credit cards.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FairlingtonBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Food, Funky little dive”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Saw this on Trip advisor. It is small..... next to another building and you can easily miss it. Wonderful owners who can tell you about living in Delaware and other interesting things. Great homemade food. Recommend going for whatever the special is....... we had some zucchini parmesean..... does not get any better than that......... We like little dive places..... this is one.... one of the best.... inexpensive, too!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocandSugarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing