We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Great Wine, Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watts Roost Vineyard - CLOSED

Watts Roost Vineyard
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Wine, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived in Lewisburg after a very very long, traffic filled drive and we wanted to start our vacation with a wine sampling. The wine sampling hours are listed as Thurs-Aat 1p-6p. We had a hard time finding the location with GPS. So I called and was upset as it was about 10 minutes before six on Saturday, but we made it right before 6pm and then had no problem letting us taste the wines and view the property. We had a great time. The owner were incredibly kind, professional and interesting. Their friendly conversation and great tasting wine, made me forget the hours were spent in traffic in the pouring rain. We had a great time, just wish we could have been there earlier to stay longer. There is a porch outside where people can hang out and relax and have a glass of wine. There are a variety of wines for purchase at reasonable prices and also wine related items in their shop. But again, the service and friendly atmosphere makes it a place you will want to visit.

Visited July 2013
3 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenic winery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited Frank & Barbara's winery and really enjoyed our tour and tasting! It's located just outside of the city of Lewisburg, WV and is very easy to find. The wine was delicious and very affordable and has won numerous awards in competition. I highly recommend the "Hern's Mill Red" named after the historic covered bridge nearby built in 1884 ( go there too!! ).



Visited October 2012
4 Thank fletchlivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint Winery, good wines, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Really love Frank and Mr. Beagle (the dog). We were passing through Lewisburg and Sugarbear really enjoys fruit (blueberry, blackberry wines....) did not see any of those varieties at the local stores so we called Frank, and he said he would open up for us.... went out, tasted a new special blackberry wine (highly endorsed by SB), talked about some new wines and some special blends and toured the countryisde. Frank is wonderful to talk to to learn about the local area and the wines just make the day!

Visited June 2012
1 Thank DocandSugarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bottled wine for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Found this winery on our way to UVA, and it was a great experience. The tastings were of at least 7-8 wines-most hybrids and very good! We were about to leave, when the woman working offered to take us back into the production area and to try one of their newest wines that hadn't been bottled yet- "Noir"-we loved it so much she offered to start up the equipment and bottle it for us! Great experience, service and would recommend this to any one in the area or traveling through!

Visited May 2012
3 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
198 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Excellent red wines for food pairings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We purchased Watts Roost Vineyard red wines at Tamarak for a "West Virginia Wine Dinner Weekend" at the Elkhorn Inn and found them to be truly excellent- a very happy surprise!

2 Thank elissejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing