We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History at it's best!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I was recommended this hotel from several locals. I traveled to Lewisburg with my Daughter who was looking for a place to live while attending WVSOM.. Great location...I must say, Elizabeth in the Dining Room was Superior.....wonderful lady...

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sndybch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 347 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2010

This is a very cool place, but we were a bit shocked at the size of the rooms. We booked an extra sized room that had 3 beds in it. The Inn supplied 3 luggage racks, but there was no real room for them. We had to sqeeze to find a place to put bags. The bathroom was super small.

The Inn advertises wireless, but I had no connection the entire time. We were in room 101, and it was right aroiund the corner from the office and front desk, so distance should not have been an issue. As much a I hate it, in this day-and-age, I need an internet connection.

Dinner at the Inn was very nice. My Southern Fired Chicken was a bit dry, but my other two family members really enjoyed their meals.

This is the only Inn type of accomodations that are walking distance to downtown Lewisburg. The location is great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoasterWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

After a long drive, it was a pleasure to stay at the General Lewis. The room was comfortable (over the kitchen, which was a worry, but we slept soundly none the less), our evening meal was pleasant, and our morning breakfast excellent. And we could have an after dinner walk down to the local irish pub for live irish music and whisky...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axeleldraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Do yourself a huge favor and spend two or three days at the General Lewis Inn in Lewisburg, WVA. The town defines charm, The Inn defineshospitality. It has all of the amenities you might need, and the town will delight you, whether with its dining opportunities, myriad shops, and wonderful (in some cases world class) art galleries. It is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Visited three years ago and a welcome return; still a thoroughly pleasant experience. Sadly the cat that made instant friends wth my wife had recently passed on so sad to miss our companion fromlast time and, having raved to our friends about the pepper jelly and crackers on the dinner menu, the waitress was very abashed to tell us that they were out of crackers! However, our alternative choices were excellent and this was a great stay.
Lewisburg is a gem of a small town with a nice strollable downtown where everyone seemed to know everyone else and were extremely friendly - we recommend the Wild Bean Cafe just down the road for a great coffee and a chilled ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headingtonroadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Excellent customer service throughout our stay. This hotel left a very positive impression on both of us. The dinner was wonderful and staff very attentive. We felt like we were treated like family.
My husband and I don't get away very often. We certainly appreciated your hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

My granddaughter and I found our stay at the General Lewis Inn perfect in several ways. Very friendly staff, meticulously clean, reasonably priced fine dining, wonderful period furniture, added up to a most enjoyable stay. It was fun to pretend you had taken a step back in time. Charlotte, WV

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVlady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lewisburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Marcel
Maison Marcel
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing