We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent hotel in a gem of a small town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a gem of a small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Visited three years ago and a welcome return; still a thoroughly pleasant experience. Sadly the cat that made instant friends wth my wife had recently passed on so sad to miss our companion fromlast time and, having raved to our friends about the pepper jelly and crackers on the dinner menu, the waitress was very abashed to tell us that they were out of crackers! However, our alternative choices were excellent and this was a great stay.
Lewisburg is a gem of a small town with a nice strollable downtown where everyone seemed to know everyone else and were extremely friendly - we recommend the Wild Bean Cafe just down the road for a great coffee and a chilled ambience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank headingtonroadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    78
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
68
146
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Excellent customer service throughout our stay. This hotel left a very positive impression on both of us. The dinner was wonderful and staff very attentive. We felt like we were treated like family.
My husband and I don't get away very often. We certainly appreciated your hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

My granddaughter and I found our stay at the General Lewis Inn perfect in several ways. Very friendly staff, meticulously clean, reasonably priced fine dining, wonderful period furniture, added up to a most enjoyable stay. It was fun to pretend you had taken a step back in time. Charlotte, WV

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVlady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
243 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

We were unable to stay in the Inn because they were fully booked but the staff made us feel at home anyway. We had an pleasant rest stop here before going on to a B&B farmhouse that they reserved for us as a courtesy. I have a lot of pictures from this place and really liked their stories and memorabilia. The manager gave us a list of things to do around Lewisburg that proved helpful. Excellent hospitality.

Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveltode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

The General Lewis Inn is a historic bed and breakfast inn. There are many antiques that add to the simple charm of it. Each bedroom, I assume, as ours was, was designed for comfort. The restaurant was very good with reasonable prices and the wait staff was very responsive and willing to serve but not hovering. I was disappointed I could not stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janes116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

This is a very interesting inn with lots of antiques to look at during your stay. The staff was very helpful. While we enjoyed our brief stay, I'm not too sure that the $250.00 tab for one night and a dinner was really worth it. A bar or drink service (other than wine at supper) would have been a nice way to relax in the great room with the fireplace.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medic1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

I had some reservations about staying at a historic hotel that is furnished with period pieces including the beds. Biggest concern was the possibility of musty or moldy oders. This was not a problem at the Inn as everything was very fresh and clean because of the great job they do keeping it nice and in part because of the no smoking policy throughout the interior and entrance. Although an antique, our bed (one of their canopy beds) was surpisingly comfortable. We enjoyed the unique opportunity to explore the unoccupied rooms which they leave open when no one is checked in. The two dinners we had at the Inn were top notch and not too expensive. The historic shopping area was an easy block or so walk with additional dining choices to meet all tastes. Staff, locals, and even visiting tourists were much more friendly than what we usually experience.

The only negatives are almost not worth mentioning because they were very minor. The rooms prices might be a little high but it is offset by the unique experience and service. We also had some difficulty keeping the tempature constant in the room but that is also a very common problem with modern hotels, especially in severe weather.

We will very likely be repeat customers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarknSue1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Greenbrier
The Greenbrier
#1 of 1 in White Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing