We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for relaxing in an aura of a past era.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Save
You added Historic General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
WV
1 review
“Perfect for relaxing in an aura of a past era.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

My granddaughter and I found our stay at the General Lewis Inn perfect in several ways. Very friendly staff, meticulously clean, reasonably priced fine dining, wonderful period furniture, added up to a most enjoyable stay. It was fun to pretend you had taken a step back in time. Charlotte, WV

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVlady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    71
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
64
139
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
244 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We were unable to stay in the Inn because they were fully booked but the staff made us feel at home anyway. We had an pleasant rest stop here before going on to a B&B farmhouse that they reserved for us as a courtesy. I have a lot of pictures from this place and really liked their stories and memorabilia. The manager gave us a list of things to do around Lewisburg that proved helpful. Excellent hospitality.

Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveltode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

The General Lewis Inn is a historic bed and breakfast inn. There are many antiques that add to the simple charm of it. Each bedroom, I assume, as ours was, was designed for comfort. The restaurant was very good with reasonable prices and the wait staff was very responsive and willing to serve but not hovering. I was disappointed I could not stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janes116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

This is a very interesting inn with lots of antiques to look at during your stay. The staff was very helpful. While we enjoyed our brief stay, I'm not too sure that the $250.00 tab for one night and a dinner was really worth it. A bar or drink service (other than wine at supper) would have been a nice way to relax in the great room with the fireplace.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medic1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

I had some reservations about staying at a historic hotel that is furnished with period pieces including the beds. Biggest concern was the possibility of musty or moldy oders. This was not a problem at the Inn as everything was very fresh and clean because of the great job they do keeping it nice and in part because of the no smoking policy throughout the interior and entrance. Although an antique, our bed (one of their canopy beds) was surpisingly comfortable. We enjoyed the unique opportunity to explore the unoccupied rooms which they leave open when no one is checked in. The two dinners we had at the Inn were top notch and not too expensive. The historic shopping area was an easy block or so walk with additional dining choices to meet all tastes. Staff, locals, and even visiting tourists were much more friendly than what we usually experience.

The only negatives are almost not worth mentioning because they were very minor. The rooms prices might be a little high but it is offset by the unique experience and service. We also had some difficulty keeping the tempature constant in the room but that is also a very common problem with modern hotels, especially in severe weather.

We will very likely be repeat customers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarknSue1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We come here every year and it is so quaint and charming. The staff is friendly and they make you feel at home. The only thing I would suggest to others planning a visit in December is to make certain they do not end up at the Inn at the same time another very large group comes for a family reunion. The cozy and relaxing atmosphere is transformed and if you are looking for peace and quiet this is not the week-end for you. Other than that, it is a beautiful little town and a wonderful Inn with delicious food and great service. I highly recommend it any time of the year!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amylu60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayrunner326
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Our room was clean, spacious, and well appointed. We were able to tour any of the unoccupied rooms which was nice. The onsite restaurant is excellent. Our server Michael was extremely attentive and courteous. The food was delicious and prepared to perfection. Surprisingly affordable, I would recommend The General Lewis to anyone visiting Lewisburg.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayrunner326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
24.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing