We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not bad, but probably won't go again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
VA
1 review
“Not bad, but probably won't go again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

This is a very interesting inn with lots of antiques to look at during your stay. The staff was very helpful. While we enjoyed our brief stay, I'm not too sure that the $250.00 tab for one night and a dinner was really worth it. A bar or drink service (other than wine at supper) would have been a nice way to relax in the great room with the fireplace.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medic1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    78
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
68
146
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

I had some reservations about staying at a historic hotel that is furnished with period pieces including the beds. Biggest concern was the possibility of musty or moldy oders. This was not a problem at the Inn as everything was very fresh and clean because of the great job they do keeping it nice and in part because of the no smoking policy throughout the interior and entrance. Although an antique, our bed (one of their canopy beds) was surpisingly comfortable. We enjoyed the unique opportunity to explore the unoccupied rooms which they leave open when no one is checked in. The two dinners we had at the Inn were top notch and not too expensive. The historic shopping area was an easy block or so walk with additional dining choices to meet all tastes. Staff, locals, and even visiting tourists were much more friendly than what we usually experience.

The only negatives are almost not worth mentioning because they were very minor. The rooms prices might be a little high but it is offset by the unique experience and service. We also had some difficulty keeping the tempature constant in the room but that is also a very common problem with modern hotels, especially in severe weather.

We will very likely be repeat customers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarknSue1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

We come here every year and it is so quaint and charming. The staff is friendly and they make you feel at home. The only thing I would suggest to others planning a visit in December is to make certain they do not end up at the Inn at the same time another very large group comes for a family reunion. The cozy and relaxing atmosphere is transformed and if you are looking for peace and quiet this is not the week-end for you. Other than that, it is a beautiful little town and a wonderful Inn with delicious food and great service. I highly recommend it any time of the year!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amylu60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayrunner326
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Our room was clean, spacious, and well appointed. We were able to tour any of the unoccupied rooms which was nice. The onsite restaurant is excellent. Our server Michael was extremely attentive and courteous. The food was delicious and prepared to perfection. Surprisingly affordable, I would recommend The General Lewis to anyone visiting Lewisburg.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayrunner326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is an Inn for those who have lots of time on their hands and don't need elevators, internet access, help with luggage, or 24/7 service. Although I called ahead and was assured that all guest rooms had internet access, it is simply not dependable service and the front desk neither understands it nor appears to care. I had spotty service at best and reporting it produced only indifferent responses.
The Inn is a charming building, full of antiques, with a restaurant on-site. It is a short walk to the downtown shops and restaurants (many of which are not open on Sunday or Monday). I only tried the Inn for breakfast; the food was fine and the service leisurely.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deapackedandready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

A great way to slow down and enjoy life. Excellent food for dinner and GREAT Breakfast!
If you were to ask us to choose between the Greenbrier Resort or General Lewis Inn, the inn wins for us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crusoewv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, OH
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

Although we were only there for one night we would certainly consider another visit and have already told several friends about Lewisburg and the General Lewis Inn. We were glad that we arrived early enough to take a walk down the hill to visit the quaint shops in Lewisburg and still had enough time to enjoy the backyard gardens before dinner in your lovely dining area. Our beds were perfect and all in all we had a perfectly grand visit. Thank you...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieLoveland47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Greenbrier
The Greenbrier
#1 of 1 in White Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing