We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Save
You added Historic General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk virginia
1 review
“Great holiday getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We come here every year and it is so quaint and charming. The staff is friendly and they make you feel at home. The only thing I would suggest to others planning a visit in December is to make certain they do not end up at the Inn at the same time another very large group comes for a family reunion. The cozy and relaxing atmosphere is transformed and if you are looking for peace and quiet this is not the week-end for you. Other than that, it is a beautiful little town and a wonderful Inn with delicious food and great service. I highly recommend it any time of the year!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amylu60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    71
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
64
139
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bayrunner326
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Our room was clean, spacious, and well appointed. We were able to tour any of the unoccupied rooms which was nice. The onsite restaurant is excellent. Our server Michael was extremely attentive and courteous. The food was delicious and prepared to perfection. Surprisingly affordable, I would recommend The General Lewis to anyone visiting Lewisburg.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayrunner326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is an Inn for those who have lots of time on their hands and don't need elevators, internet access, help with luggage, or 24/7 service. Although I called ahead and was assured that all guest rooms had internet access, it is simply not dependable service and the front desk neither understands it nor appears to care. I had spotty service at best and reporting it produced only indifferent responses.
The Inn is a charming building, full of antiques, with a restaurant on-site. It is a short walk to the downtown shops and restaurants (many of which are not open on Sunday or Monday). I only tried the Inn for breakfast; the food was fine and the service leisurely.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deapackedandready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

A great way to slow down and enjoy life. Excellent food for dinner and GREAT Breakfast!
If you were to ask us to choose between the Greenbrier Resort or General Lewis Inn, the inn wins for us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crusoewv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, OH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Although we were only there for one night we would certainly consider another visit and have already told several friends about Lewisburg and the General Lewis Inn. We were glad that we arrived early enough to take a walk down the hill to visit the quaint shops in Lewisburg and still had enough time to enjoy the backyard gardens before dinner in your lovely dining area. Our beds were perfect and all in all we had a perfectly grand visit. Thank you...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieLoveland47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The General Lewis is a country inn, with charming period rooms and country ambiance. We love the setting, the big porch, and the cozy rooms. Food in the restaurant is excellent, and service is relaxed and friendly. Grounds and setting are lovely, and location is convenient for exploring Lewisburg on foot.

Informative website makes online booking easy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuiltCivilWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

A lovely inn chocked full of antiques...each room is unique. The location is great - Lewisburg is a wonderful town to stroll and check out the unusual shops. We were very comfortable and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woozylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
24.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing